---
title: "HRE - AFS/20 - Aviemore to Forres - Castle Grant"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "National Highways"
published: "2026-09-15"
---

# HRE - AFS/20 - Aviemore to Forres - Castle Grant

Buyer: National Highways  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270.json)

## Summary

National Highways Limited procured works associated with railway maintenance or service vehicles and railway freight wagons, under the requirement titled “Aviemore to Forres – Castle Grant”. The procurement is concerned with the railway asset and vehicle-related works identified by CPV 34621000, rather than a general construction service. The named delivery scope is the Aviemore to Forres route and Castle Grant, within a wider geographic coverage that includes the United Kingdom and other locations. National Highways Limited is the buying organisation. The opportunity was classified as works and was identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises. It therefore provides a useful reference point for firms delivering railway maintenance, service-vehicle or freight-wagon-related works for public infrastructure buyers.

The procurement has been awarded and is complete. National Highways Limited used a selective procedure to make a call-off from a framework agreement. Balfour Beatty Construction Ltd was awarded the contract on 15 September 2026 for £162,058 including the stated GBP currency. The contract runs from 15 September 2026 to 31 March 2027. The published tender value and awarded value are both £162,058. The requirement was evaluated through the framework call-off route; the available procurement record does not set out separate quality or price weightings. This was a single awarded requirement rather than a set of separately reported lots, and the award is active. The selected supplier is a large organisation.

For competitors, this award shows that National Highways buys defined railway maintenance and service-vehicle-related works through framework call-offs, with delivery linked to the Aviemore–Forres route and Castle Grant. A credible future supplier would need practical capability in railway infrastructure works involving maintenance or service vehicles and railway freight wagons, together with the capacity to deliver a defined public-sector requirement on a major transport asset. Experience working safely and reliably in railway environments would be commercially relevant, as would the ability to operate across the United Kingdom where required. The buyer’s indication that the requirement is suitable for SMEs suggests that smaller specialist firms may be credible participants, either independently or as part of a framework supply chain, while larger contractors may compete at comparable scale.

## Notice

HRE - AFS/20 - Aviemore to Forres - Castle Grant

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/736fa332-9f6f-4a37-8bc3-580213e1083f |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Framework |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Call-off from a framework agreement |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 15 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 15 Sep 2026 |
| Contract period | 15 Sep 2026 - 31 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £162,058 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £162,058 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | National Highways |
| Locality | BIRMINGHAM |
| Postcode area | Birmingham |
| Postcode | B4 6GA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLG West Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLG3 West Midlands |
| ITL 3 | TLG31 Birmingham |
| Local authority | Birmingham |
| Electoral ward | Ladywood |
| Westminster constituency | Birmingham Ladywood |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Balfour Beatty Construction Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 34 - Transport equipment and auxiliary products to transportation

### Codes

- 34621000 - Railway maintenance or service vehicles, and railway freight wagons

## Release History

- 15 Sep 2026 at 15:57 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/736fa332-9f6f-4a37-8bc3-580213e1083f

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/736fa332-9f6f-4a37-8bc3-580213e1083f
  15th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-195456ad-4481-48a1-9e6f-e13232905270.json.
