---
title: "New Purchase of 6 Winter Gritters"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Norfolk County Council"
published: "2026-09-08"
---

# New Purchase of 6 Winter Gritters

Buyer: Norfolk County Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64.json)

## Summary

Norfolk County Council bought six new winter gritter vehicles for its CES Highways Winter Services Team. The vehicles are intended for winter highway maintenance and will be leased for seven years. This is a goods procurement for gritter vehicles (CPV 34144440), with delivery in the East of England. The requirement concerns the supply of a small fleet of specialist vehicles rather than general road maintenance, construction or consultancy services. Businesses relevant to this requirement include manufacturers, specialist vehicle engineers, fleet suppliers and organisations able to provide new gritters together with the associated leasing arrangement. The council is the buying organisation and the vehicles support its local authority highways winter service.

The procurement is complete and was awarded on 17 June 2026 following a direct award under the NEP0224 Framework, Lot 4, using The Procurement Partnership Ltd route. The tender submission deadline was 23 January 2026 at 11:00 UTC. Econ Engineering was selected as supplier for the six vehicles. The awarded value is £794,611.44 including the stated procurement value in GBP. The contract period runs from 17 June 2026 to 16 June 2033, covering the seven-year lease. The award is active. The procurement was for goods and was not divided into separately reported lots. The recorded outcome identifies a framework direct award rather than an open competition.

This award demonstrates a defined requirement from Norfolk County Council for a small fleet of new specialist winter gritter vehicles delivered through a public-sector framework. A credible future competitor would need the engineering and manufacturing capability to design or supply gritters suitable for highway winter service, together with the capacity to provide six vehicles as a coordinated fleet. The seven-year leasing model indicates that suppliers should be able to support a long-term vehicle arrangement, not only a one-off sale. Relevant strengths would include experience with local-authority or highways fleets, dependable vehicle delivery, servicing and technical support, and the financial and operational scale to manage a framework-based direct award. The buyer recorded the opportunity as unsuitable for SMEs and VCSEs.

## Notice

The CES Highways Winter Services Team completed a tender process via The Procurement Partnership Ltd (TPPL) using Framework NEP0224 to purchase 6 new gritter vehicles. The gritters are leased for 7 years

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/9ba6dc56-fabe-4431-b42c-82908b402a07 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Other - Direct award under Framework |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 8 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 17 Jun 2026 |
| Contract period | 17 Jun 2026 - 16 Jun 2033 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £794,611 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £794,611 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Norfolk County Council |
| Locality | NORWICH |
| Postcode area | Norwich |
| Postcode | NR1 2DH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLH East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLH5 Norfolk |
| ITL 3 | TLH51 Norwich and East Norfolk |
| Local authority | Norwich |
| Electoral ward | Lakenham |
| Westminster constituency | Norwich South |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Econ Engineering Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 34 - Transport equipment and auxiliary products to transportation

### Codes

- 34144440 - Gritter vehicles

## Release History

- 8 Sep 2026 at 11:53 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/9ba6dc56-fabe-4431-b42c-82908b402a07

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/9ba6dc56-fabe-4431-b42c-82908b402a07
  8th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-214f5201-7074-4344-abf3-cbd18fc39c64.json.
