---
title: "NCC1491 Principal Inspections of Confined Spaces Structures and Structures crossing Rail Tracks"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Northumberland County Council"
published: "2026-09-04"
---

# NCC1491 Principal Inspections of Confined Spaces Structures and Structures crossing Rail Tracks

Buyer: Northumberland County Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584.json)

## Summary

Northumberland County Council procured technical engineering inspection services for structures in North East England. The work covers Principal Inspections of five bridges spanning Network Rail infrastructure and six structures requiring confined-space access. The scope includes planning each inspection, securing a Basic Asset Protection Agreement from Network Rail where required, carrying out the inspections and producing the associated deliverables. These deliverables comprise a Principal Inspection Report, defect drawings and BCI forms for each identified structure. The requirement is primarily bridge and engineering-structure inspection work, with an associated railway-track inspection element. It will be delivered for Northumberland County Council across the relevant structures in its area.

The procurement is complete and was awarded to AECOM Limited. The award date was 4 September 2026 and the awarded value is £92,072.11. The contract runs from 14 September 2026 to 13 September 2027. Tenders were due by 14 July 2026 at 12:00. This was a selective procedure and a call-off from a framework agreement, awarded following a further competition under NEPO212 Support Services for the Development of the Built Environment, Lot 9: Highways & Transportation. The published award identifies one supplier and one award. The procurement is classified as a services contract and was marked as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises.

This requirement demonstrates demand from Northumberland County Council for specialist inspection teams able to assess bridges and confined-space structures, including assets crossing or spanning Network Rail infrastructure. A credible competitor would need to plan and manage Principal Inspections, work safely around rail infrastructure, secure a Basic Asset Protection Agreement where required, and turn inspection findings into clear, structure-specific reports, defect drawings and BCI forms. The work suits an engineering consultancy or inspection contractor with practical structural-inspection capability, confined-space competence and the capacity to manage several structures within one commission. SMEs were considered suitable, while the route shows that relevant suppliers may need access to, or experience of, built-environment support-services frameworks and further competitions.

## Notice

To undertake Principal inspections of five bridges spanning Network Rail infrastructure, along with six confined-space structures. The scope of work includes inspection planning, securing a Basic Asset Protection Agreement (BAPA) from Network Rail where required, undertaking the inspections and preparing associated deliverables, including the Principal Inspection Report, defect drawings and BCI forms for each identified structure.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/701fe6ea-749f-43d8-b971-380a61f716fe |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Framework |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Call-off from a framework agreement |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 4 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 4 Sep 2026 |
| Contract period | 14 Sep 2026 - 13 Sep 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £92,072 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £92,072 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Northumberland County Council |
| Locality | MORPETH |
| Postcode area | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Postcode | NE61 2EF |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC42 Northumberland |
| Local authority | Northumberland |
| Electoral ward | Morpeth Kirkhill |
| Westminster constituency | North Northumberland |
| Delivery location | TLC North East (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | AECOM |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 71631400 - Technical inspection services of engineering structures
- 71631450 - Bridge-inspection services
- 71631470 - Railway-track inspection services

## Release History

- 4 Sep 2026 at 11:56 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/701fe6ea-749f-43d8-b971-380a61f716fe

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/701fe6ea-749f-43d8-b971-380a61f716fe
  4th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-35009f89-6411-432e-8340-642bfb1b3584.json.
