---
title: "Award of a call off contract under the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System for Low Level Literacy provision for prisoners at HMP Ford"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Ministry of Justice"
published: "2026-09-25"
---

# Award of a call off contract under the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System for Low Level Literacy provision for prisoners at HMP Ford

Buyer: Ministry of Justice  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79.json)

## Summary

The Ministry of Justice bought education and training services for prisoners at HMP Ford. The work is to design a programme that supports, coaches, trains and provides structured supervision for prisoner peer mentors. Those mentors provide one-to-one support to learners with very low literacy and numeracy, below Entry Level 3 in English or maths. The programme aims to help learners develop skills so they can potentially progress to Functional Skills courses and continue learning. Delivery is at HMP Ford in Ford, West Sussex.

The procurement is complete and was awarded to Shannon Trust on 18 June 2026. The contract value is £15,024, and the contract runs from 18 June to 17 December 2026. The competition closed on 27 May 2026. This was a selective call-off from the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System. The award was for the low-level literacy provision at HMP Ford. The recorded process gives an overall estimated value matching the awarded value; no separate lot awards are recorded.

This award shows demand from the Ministry of Justice for focused literacy and numeracy support in a prison setting, delivered through a peer-mentor model. A credible provider would need to design a structured programme and be able to train, coach and supervise mentors who deliver one-to-one learner support. Experience working with learners below Entry Level 3 and supporting progression towards Functional Skills would be directly relevant. Providers would also need to deliver within a prison education environment and maintain continuity of learning. The buyer used a call-off route through its Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System. The procurement was marked suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises and voluntary, community and social enterprises.

## Notice

Award of a call off contract under the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System for Low Level Literacy provision for prisoners at HMP Ford. The supplier will design a programme to support, coach, train and provide structured supervision for peer mentors. The Prisoner Peer Mentors, are involved with the delivery of one-to-one support for those individuals with very low literacy and low numeracy (below Entry Level 3 English / Maths). The aim of the services is to upskill learners that can then potentially join Functional Skills courses to ensure continuity of learning and continual progress.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c2fd253f-3303-41ac-b5be-12ef578d34fd |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Dynamic |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Call-off from a dynamic purchasing system |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 18 Jun 2026 |
| Contract period | 18 Jun 2026 - 17 Dec 2026 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £15,024 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £15,024 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Ministry of Justice |
| Locality | LEEDS |
| Postcode area | Leeds |
| Postcode | LS1 4AP |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLE Yorkshire and The Humber |
| ITL 2 | TLE4 West Yorkshire |
| ITL 3 | TLE42 Leeds |
| Local authority | Leeds |
| Electoral ward | Hunslet & Riverside |
| Westminster constituency | Leeds South |
| Delivery location | TLJ South East (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Shannon Trust |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 80 - Education and training services

### Codes

- 80000000 - Education and training services

## Release History

- 25 Sep 2026 at 09:28 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c2fd253f-3303-41ac-b5be-12ef578d34fd

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c2fd253f-3303-41ac-b5be-12ef578d34fd
  25th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-36503239-1a31-4239-91d8-3ff357860d79.json.
