---
title: "26087 - Tax and Advisory specialists. This is a call-off from the GCA's Management Consultancy Framework Four (MCF4) RM6309."
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Cambridgeshire County Council"
published: "2026-09-21"
---

# 26087 - Tax and Advisory specialists. This is a call-off from the GCA's Management Consultancy Framework Four (MCF4) RM6309.

Buyer: Cambridgeshire County Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec.json)

## Summary

Cambridgeshire County Council procured independent tax and advisory support to assess strategic options available to the council and consider their implications. The requirement falls within financial consultancy services (CPV 66171000) and is a service contract delivered in England. The work concerns specialist management consultancy and advisory input rather than routine accounting, with an emphasis on independent assessment of strategic choices. The council is based at New Shire Hall, Alconbury Weald, Huntingdon. The procurement was a call-off from the Government Commercial Agency’s Management Consultancy Framework Four (MCF4), reference RM6309, indicating that the requirement was intended to be fulfilled through an established management consultancy framework. The opportunity was identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises.

The procurement is complete and was awarded through a direct award under the MCF4 framework. Grant Thornton UK Advisory and Tax LLP was selected on 2 August 2026 for £120,000. The award contract period runs from 5 August 2026 to 4 February 2027, while the tender record gives an overall service period from 8 August 2026 to 4 February 2027. The initial call-off was for six months, with an option to extend by a further six months, giving a potential total duration of 12 months. The estimated procurement range was £60,000 to £120,000. The tender submission deadline was 29 July 2026 at 12:00. There were no lots, and the procurement used a direct award rather than a competitive tender.

This award indicates demand from Cambridgeshire County Council for senior independent advice on strategic options, their implications, and related tax and financial considerations. Suppliers competing for similar work should be able to provide robust management consultancy, financial advisory and tax expertise, with the independence to assess competing options objectively and explain the consequences clearly to public-sector decision-makers. Credibility would also depend on experience of complex strategic reviews for councils or comparable public bodies, the ability to deploy suitably qualified advisers, and capacity to deliver focused support over a short initial engagement with potential continuity thereafter. Because this requirement was called off through MCF4, businesses seeking comparable work should consider whether they hold access to the relevant framework or can partner with an appointed supplier. SME suitability suggests that smaller specialist firms may be viable participants in future delivery models.

## Notice

Cambridgeshire County Council require independent advisory support to assess the strategic options available and to consider the implications of these options. Additional information: This is a call-off for an initial 6 months, with an option to extend by an additional 6 months (total contract duration is 12 months).

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/75b2ac35-a471-4f63-a097-97f5a835cd98 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Direct award |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 21 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 2 Aug 2026 |
| Contract period | 5 Aug 2026 - 4 Feb 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £120,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £120,000 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Cambridgeshire County Council |
| Locality | HUNTINGDON |
| Postcode area | Peterborough |
| Postcode | PE28 4YE |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLH East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLH4 Cambridgeshire and Peterborough |
| ITL 3 | TLH42 Cambridgeshire CC |
| Local authority | Huntingdonshire |
| Electoral ward | The Stukeleys |
| Westminster constituency | Huntingdon |
| Delivery location | TLC North East (England), TLD North West (England), TLF East Midlands (England), TLG West Midlands (England), TLH East (England), TLJ South East (England), TLK South West (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Grant Thornton UK LLP |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 66 - Financial and insurance services

### Codes

- 66171000 - Financial consultancy services

## Release History

- 21 Sep 2026 at 11:17 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/75b2ac35-a471-4f63-a097-97f5a835cd98

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/75b2ac35-a471-4f63-a097-97f5a835cd98
  21st September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Notice URLs

- https://www.cambridgeshire.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-7ec8c866-b1fd-4a15-a1b8-b591bd5213ec.json.
