---
title: "Land Assessment Project"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Cumberland Council"
published: "2026-09-11"
---

# Land Assessment Project

Buyer: Cumberland Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e.json)

## Summary

Cumberland Council commissioned a land assessment project funded through Local Investment in Natural Capital. The service will examine how council-owned assets could support nature recovery and develop an investable solution for nature markets and green finance. This is a specialist environmental and land assessment service, classified under geological consultancy services (CPV 71351220), rather than a construction or land sale opportunity. Delivery covers England, with the council as the buying organisation. The requirement is relevant to organisations able to assess public land and translate its environmental potential into credible investment opportunities. It brings together land and environmental analysis with practical understanding of nature recovery and the mechanisms needed to attract nature-market or green-finance investment.

The procurement is complete and was awarded through an open procedure. Bids closed at 12:00 GMT on 13 March 2026. Cumberland Council awarded one contract to Cumbria Wildlife Trust on 11 May 2026 for £99,730. The awarded contract runs from 1 August 2026 to 31 March 2027; the procurement record also states a contract period beginning 7 August 2026 and ending 31 March 2027. The original estimated value was £99,730. The requirement was treated as a services contract, with a single award and no lots identified. The stated procurement route was an open procedure. The completed outcome shows the council selected a supplier for the full land assessment requirement, rather than dividing delivery between multiple providers.

This award indicates demand from Cumberland Council for suppliers that can investigate the potential of council-owned land and connect environmental outcomes with investment. A credible competitor for a future requirement would need capability in land and environmental assessment, nature recovery planning, and the development of investable propositions for nature markets or green finance. Experience working with public-sector landowners would help, as would the ability to turn evidence about land assets into a practical delivery and investment model. The selected supplier was Cumbria Wildlife Trust, showing that relevant conservation expertise and an established understanding of local natural assets can be important. The requirement was recorded as unsuitable for SMEs and voluntary, community or social enterprises, so competing organisations should assess whether they have the scale and specialist capacity expected by this buyer.

## Notice

Delivery of a Local Investment in Natural Capital (LINC) funded project, a Land Assessment Project. The purpose of the project is to explore the potential of Council owned assets to contribute to nature recovery and provide an investable solution for nature markets / green finance.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/e2845ce2-9a61-48c4-ad6c-7d4fc45285b0 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Open procedure |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 11 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 11 May 2026 |
| Contract period | 1 Aug 2026 - 31 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £99,730 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £99,730 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Cumberland Council |
| Locality | CARLISLE |
| Postcode area | Carlisle |
| Postcode | CA1 1RD |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLD North West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLD1 Cumbria |
| ITL 3 | TLD13 Cumberland |
| Local authority | Cumberland |
| Electoral ward | Castle |
| Westminster constituency | Carlisle |
| Delivery location | TLC North East (England), TLD North West (England), TLF East Midlands (England), TLG West Midlands (England), TLH East (England), TLJ South East (England), TLK South West (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | CUMBRIA WILDLIFE TRUST LIMITED |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 71351220 - Geological consultancy services

## Release History

- 11 Sep 2026 at 11:39 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/e2845ce2-9a61-48c4-ad6c-7d4fc45285b0

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/e2845ce2-9a61-48c4-ad6c-7d4fc45285b0
  11th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Notice URLs

- https://www.cumberland.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-8ddfffd1-7db1-42f2-9d68-07205fe9977e.json.
