---
title: "S30155 Gatwick Surface Access Works Technical Support"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "National Highways"
published: "2026-09-29"
---

# S30155 Gatwick Surface Access Works Technical Support

Buyer: National Highways  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291.json)

## Summary

National Highways appointed technical consultancy support for Gatwick Airport Limited’s Northern Runway Project, focused on surface access works where they interface with the Strategic Road Network. The work is intended to preserve technical knowledge from the project’s Development Consent Order and handover, support emerging technical requirements, and provide continuity while Major Projects develops the longer-term technical assurance arrangements. The wider runway project received consent in September 2025, and National Highways took over engagement and assurance responsibilities in June 2026. The buyer is National Highways Limited. The requirement concerns development consultancy services for the Gatwick scheme, with delivery associated with the airport and its connections to the Strategic Road Network.

The procurement is complete and the contract was awarded to OVE Arup on 24 September 2026. The awarded value is £99,988.76. The contract runs from 24 September 2026 to 31 August 2027, for an interim period of around 12 months. The route was a selective call-off from a framework agreement. The stated procurement estimate was £100,000. The arrangement is intended to retain existing technical partner resources until the next stage is developed enough for competition for the wider technical assurance requirement. No lots are identified. The procurement was marked as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises. No evaluation criteria are described in the available process information.

This award shows demand from National Highways for specialist technical assurance support on major airport surface access schemes, particularly where proposed works connect with the Strategic Road Network. A credible future competitor would need to demonstrate relevant technical expertise across the disciplines involved, a strong grasp of the project’s consent and handover history, and the ability to maintain continuity while requirements and design arrangements develop. Experience supporting complex infrastructure schemes through development and delivery, managing technical risks, and providing assurance to a public-sector client would be directly relevant. The buyer used a framework call-off for this interim support, so suppliers seeking comparable work would need access to an appropriate framework route as well as the capacity to retain experienced personnel and project knowledge over an extended development period. SME suitability was recorded for this requirement.

## Notice

National Highways has an ongoing role in supporting Gatwick Airport Limited (GAL) in the development and delivery of the Gatwick Northern Runway Project and associated Surface Access Works where these interface with the Strategic Road Network (SRN). The wider Gatwick Northern Runway Project received Development Consent Order (DCO) approval in September 2025. Following the transfer of responsibility from the Third Party NSIP/CSC team to Major Projects in June 2026, Major Projects has assumed responsibility for National Highways' ongoing engagement with GAL and the associated technical assurance requirements. The DCO process identified a number of significant technical issues and risks which will require further consideration as the scheme progresses. To retain the critical scheme knowledge and provide continuity during the interim period, National Highways proposes to retain the exisiting Technical Partner resources who are currently working on this. This interim arrangement will maintain access to the knowledge developed through the DCO and handover process, support Major Projects with emerging technical requirements and enable effective preparation for the next stage of the scheme. The arrangement will remain in place until the next stage is sufficiently developed to enable a competitive procurement exercise for the wider Technical Assurance requirement across the relevant technical disciplines. The interim resource will therefore provide continuity while allowing Major Projects sufficient time to establish the longer-term technical assurance and resource requirements for the Surface Access Works. The current IDC proposal identifies a 12-month period of interim support from September 2026 to August 2027, pending development of the detailed mobilisation, design and construction arrangements.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c09c48e0-1e60-4d6b-90b2-79bb1ee7141c |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Framework |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Call-off from a framework agreement |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Contract period | 24 Sep 2026 - 31 Aug 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £100,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £99,988 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | National Highways |
| Locality | BIRMINGHAM |
| Postcode area | Birmingham |
| Postcode | B4 6GA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLG West Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLG3 West Midlands |
| ITL 3 | TLG31 Birmingham |
| Local authority | Birmingham |
| Electoral ward | Ladywood |
| Westminster constituency | Birmingham Ladywood |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Ove Arup & Partners Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 73 - Research and development services and related consultancy services

### Codes

- 73220000 - Development consultancy services

## Release History

- 29 Sep 2026 at 14:31 - AwardUpdate - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c09c48e0-1e60-4d6b-90b2-79bb1ee7141c
- 29 Sep 2026 at 14:31 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c09c48e0-1e60-4d6b-90b2-79bb1ee7141c

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/c09c48e0-1e60-4d6b-90b2-79bb1ee7141c
  29th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-97499871-be72-4d3a-8293-2849e4854291.json.
