---
title: "Professional Economist Apprenticeship Standard x 2"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "DEPARTMENT FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOOD & RURAL AFFAIRS"
published: "2026-10-07"
---

# Professional Economist Apprenticeship Standard x 2

Buyer: DEPARTMENT FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOOD & RURAL AFFAIRS  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568.json)

## Summary

Defra Commercial bought two places on the Professional Economist Apprenticeship Standard. The requirement is for professional economics apprenticeship training, delivered by the University of Kent. The buyer is based in London, and the training is associated with Defra’s London office; the listed delivery locations also extend across the United Kingdom and beyond. This is an education and training service, rather than a purchase of equipment or construction work. The procurement concerns the apprenticeship standard itself, with two places specified. The named provider is the University of Kent, based in Canterbury.

The procurement is complete and was awarded to the University of Kent through a single-tender action below the public procurement threshold. Defra Commercial recorded the award on 7 October 2026. The award value is £46,000. The contract period runs from 1 September 2026 to 30 September 2030. The tender deadline was 31 August 2026. Two apprenticeship places were procured, with no separate lots recorded. The published procurement information does not set out an evaluation formula or a detailed eligibility test; it indicates that small and medium-sized businesses and voluntary, community and social enterprises were considered suitable to participate. The outcome is one active award to one supplier.

For a training provider competing for a future requirement from Defra Commercial, this award demonstrates demand for two professional economist apprenticeship places delivered over a multi-year period. Relevant capability would include delivering the Professional Economist Apprenticeship Standard and supporting learners through the programme; providers with experience in professional economics education and apprenticeship delivery would be best aligned with the requirement. The selected supplier was a university, showing that higher-education institutions can meet this buyer’s need, while the stated suitability for SMEs and voluntary, community and social enterprises indicates that participation was not restricted to large organisations or universities. A credible competitor would need to demonstrate capacity to support two learners and provide delivery that fits Defra’s requirement across its stated locations.

## Notice

Professional Economist Apprenticeship Standard x 2

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/04449d8f-57a7-4d0b-91dc-b5e6433b661a |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Single tender action (below threshold) |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 7 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 7 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period | 1 Sep 2026 - 30 Sep 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £46,000 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | DEPARTMENT FOR ENVIRONMENT, FOOD & RURAL AFFAIRS |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | South West London |
| Postcode | SW1P 4DF |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI3 Inner London - West |
| ITL 3 | TLI35 Westminster and City of London |
| Local authority | Westminster |
| Electoral ward | St James's |
| Westminster constituency | Cities of London and Westminster |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | University of Kent |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 80 - Education and training services

### Codes

- 80000000 - Education and training services

## Release History

- 7 Oct 2026 at 09:33 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/04449d8f-57a7-4d0b-91dc-b5e6433b661a

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/04449d8f-57a7-4d0b-91dc-b5e6433b661a
  7th October 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-99ab30c0-318f-4cf5-ab64-bea475285568.json.
