---
title: "Technical Approval Authority - Advisor"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Liverpool City Council"
published: "2026-09-29"
---

# Technical Approval Authority - Advisor

Buyer: Liverpool City Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27.json)

## Summary

Liverpool City Council commissioned a Technical Approval Authority (TAA) adviser for the Bowring Park Viaduct. The work is civil and structural engineering consultancy, providing technical approval advice for the viaduct; related construction consultancy and technical analysis are also within the stated service classifications. Delivery is in the North West of England. The requirement is focused on specialist infrastructure engineering advice for a named bridge asset, rather than general construction works or broad consultancy. It is classified as a services procurement. The buyer is Liverpool City Council.

The procurement is complete and has been awarded to Mott MacDonald Ltd. The award was made on 25 August 2026, for £22,296.79. The contract period runs from 28 September 2026 to 9 February 2029. Liverpool City Council used a restricted procedure, with an estimated procurement value of £60,000. The submission deadline was 24 July 2026 at 12:00. The procurement was identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises. The published information does not set out an evaluation weighting or detailed award criteria. The awarded value is the value of the selected supplier’s contract; it is distinct from the procurement’s estimated value.

For firms competing for a future requirement of this kind from Liverpool City Council, the key fit is specialist civil and structural engineering consultancy experience relating to bridge infrastructure and technical approval. Credibility is likely to rest on being able to provide independent, technically sound advice on a specific viaduct asset and to support the relevant approval process; the procurement’s stated scope does not establish particular accreditations or named technical standards. The selected supplier was a large consultancy, while the opportunity was also identified as suitable for SMEs, indicating that smaller practices may be relevant where they can demonstrate the necessary expertise and delivery capacity. This is a focused advisory commission, not a contract to carry out construction works.

## Notice

Bowring Park Viaduct - Technical Approval Authority (TAA) Advisor

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/03c2da13-0977-4375-abaf-8badd179ba87 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Restricted procedure |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 25 Aug 2026 |
| Contract period | 28 Sep 2026 - 9 Feb 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £60,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £22,296 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Liverpool City Council |
| Locality | LIVERPOOL |
| Postcode area | Liverpool |
| Postcode | L3 1DS |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLD North West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLD7 Merseyside |
| ITL 3 | TLD72 Liverpool |
| Local authority | Liverpool |
| Electoral ward | Waterfront South |
| Westminster constituency | Liverpool Riverside |
| Delivery location | TLD North West (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Mott MacDonald |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 71311000 - Civil engineering consultancy services
- 71312000 - Structural engineering consultancy services
- 71530000 - Construction consultancy services
- 71621000 - Technical analysis or consultancy services

## Release History

- 29 Sep 2026 at 16:17 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/03c2da13-0977-4375-abaf-8badd179ba87

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/03c2da13-0977-4375-abaf-8badd179ba87
  29th September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Notice URLs

- http://www.liverpool.gov.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b1bb8022-9e2c-4140-a3b6-95c87db96c27.json.
