---
title: "CP2829-26 Provision of Legal Advice for the procurement of the Highway Term Maintenance Contract"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Devon County Council"
published: "2026-10-16"
---

# CP2829-26 Provision of Legal Advice for the procurement of the Highway Term Maintenance Contract

Buyer: Devon County Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a.json)

## Summary

Devon County Council procured legal services to support its procurement of a highway term maintenance contract. The work is legal advice and support for the council’s process of selecting a provider for highway maintenance services; the underlying maintenance work itself is not this contract. The council is based in Exeter, and the procurement data gives Exeter as the delivery location. The legal support was sourced through the Government Commercial Agency’s Public Sector Legal Services Framework, using its full-service provision route for England and Wales.

The procurement is complete and Bird & Bird LLP was selected for the contract. Devon County Council used a direct award from the Government Commercial Agency’s Public Sector Legal Services Framework. The award was made on 2 September 2026, at a value of £600,000. The contract period runs from 3 September 2026 to 31 December 2030. The tender response deadline was 2 September 2026. The procurement was for one requirement, and its stated value and award are for the legal support service. The published information does not set out a competitive evaluation basis or detailed participation requirements.

This award shows demand from Devon County Council for legal advisers able to support procurement of a substantial highway maintenance contract, rather than firms providing highway maintenance directly. A credible competitor for the same requirement would need public procurement expertise, capacity to advise through a complex service-provider procurement, and the ability to deliver full-service legal support in England and Wales. The chosen route was a direct award through an established public-sector legal services framework, so framework access and the capability to meet its full-service provision requirements are commercially relevant. The incumbent is a large law firm, indicating that the work was placed with a supplier able to resource a significant legal engagement. The council’s purchase is specific to procurement support for its highway maintenance requirement.

## Notice

Devon County Council has procured the provision of legal support to the procurement for the provision of highway maintenance services for Devon County Council. This has been conducted as a direct award from Lot 1a: Full-Service Provision- England and Wales of the Government Commercial Agency's RM6240 Public Sector Legal Service Framework.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/4137919f-6121-4853-a709-1e39a73ddb00 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Direct award |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 16 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Contract period | 3 Sep 2026 - 31 Dec 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £600,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £600,000 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Devon County Council |
| Locality | EXETER |
| Postcode area | Exeter |
| Postcode | EX2 4QD |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLK South West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLK4 Devon |
| ITL 3 | TLK43 Devon CC |
| Local authority | Exeter |
| Electoral ward | Newtown and St Leonard's |
| Westminster constituency | Exeter |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Bird & Bird LLP |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 79 - Business services: law, marketing, consulting, recruitment, printing and security

### Codes

- 79100000 - Legal services

## Release History

- 16 Oct 2026 at 12:43 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/4137919f-6121-4853-a709-1e39a73ddb00

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/4137919f-6121-4853-a709-1e39a73ddb00
  16th October 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Notice URLs

- https://www.devon.gov.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-b84c4185-8f6a-4824-843f-7f6907483e8a.json.
