---
title: "Award of a call off contract under the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System for Literacy and Numeracy Support provision for prisoners at HMP Liverpool"
ocid: "ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259.json"
source: "Contracts Finder"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Ministry of Justice"
published: "2026-09-22"
---

# Award of a call off contract under the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System for Literacy and Numeracy Support provision for prisoners at HMP Liverpool

Buyer: Ministry of Justice  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259.json)

## Summary

The Ministry of Justice commissioned education and training services at HMP Liverpool: a Literacy and Numeracy programme for prisoners. The service is intended to address barriers faced by prisoners with low levels of literacy or numeracy, including prisoners whose first language is not English and who need English for Speakers of Other Languages support. The supplier is expected to deliver and facilitate the programme, rather than provide general education services. The work falls within education and training services (CPV 80000000) and is delivered in the North West of England. This requirement is relevant to organisations experienced in prison education, literacy and numeracy teaching, ESOL provision, learner support and the practical delivery of structured programmes in custodial settings.

This procurement is complete and has been awarded through a selective call-off from the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System. The tender submission deadline was 24 August 2026 at 3:00pm. Shannon Trust was awarded the contract on 21 September 2026 for £28,319, and the contract runs from 22 September 2026 to 21 March 2027. The award is active. The requirement was identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises and voluntary, community and social enterprises. Evaluation was conducted through the dynamic purchasing system call-off route; the published data does not set out separate scoring criteria or weighting. This is a single service requirement for provision at HMP Liverpool, with no separate lots or multiple awarded suppliers recorded.

This award demonstrates a defined Ministry of Justice requirement for targeted learning provision within a prison, combining basic literacy, numeracy and ESOL-related support. A credible future provider would need practical experience of assessing and teaching adults with low literacy or numeracy, supporting learners whose first language is not English, and adapting delivery to different ability levels and barriers to learning. It would also need to manage facilitated learning in a custodial environment, work within prison operating arrangements and deliver a structured programme reliably. The buyer’s identification of the opportunity as suitable for SMEs and voluntary, community and social enterprises indicates that specialist smaller organisations can be relevant competitors, particularly where they can evidence effective prisoner education delivery and the capacity to provide consistent learner support.

## Notice

Award of a call off contract under the Prison Education Dynamic Purchasing System for Literacy and Numeracy Support provision for prisoners at HMP Liverpool. The supplier will deliver and facilitate a Literacy and Numeracy programme that shall address the barriers that exist with prisoners who have low levels of literacy and numeracy and for those prisoners whose English is not their first language (ESOL).

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Contracts Finder |
| Latest notice | https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/0eb1dad8-4f33-4768-9f48-a8ebc055c05e |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Dynamic |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Call-off from a dynamic purchasing system |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 21 Sep 2026 |
| Contract period | 22 Sep 2026 - 21 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £28,319 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £28,319 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Ministry of Justice |
| Locality | LEEDS |
| Postcode area | Leeds |
| Postcode | LS1 4AP |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLE Yorkshire and The Humber |
| ITL 2 | TLE4 West Yorkshire |
| ITL 3 | TLE42 Leeds |
| Local authority | Leeds |
| Electoral ward | Hunslet & Riverside |
| Westminster constituency | Leeds South |
| Delivery location | TLD North West (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Shannon Trust |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 80 - Education and training services

### Codes

- 80000000 - Education and training services

## Release History

- 22 Sep 2026 at 09:20 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/0eb1dad8-4f33-4768-9f48-a8ebc055c05e

## Documents

- https://www.contractsfinder.service.gov.uk/Notice/0eb1dad8-4f33-4768-9f48-a8ebc055c05e
  22nd September 2026 - Awarded contract notice on Contracts Finder

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-b5fd17-f96a8cde-be2e-4c69-a544-47d7877c0259.json.
