---
title: "PPM annual service for Theatre operating lights and emergency battery units"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Somerset NHS Foundation Trust"
published: "2026-08-27"
---

# PPM annual service for Theatre operating lights and emergency battery units

Buyer: Somerset NHS Foundation Trust  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17.json)

## Summary

Somerset NHS Foundation Trust procured an annual planned preventative maintenance service for theatre operating lights and emergency battery units. The requirement covers servicing and maintaining specialist electrical equipment used in theatre environments, with the purpose of keeping operating lights and emergency power units reliable and available for clinical use. The buyer is based at Musgrove Park Hospital in Taunton, and delivery is in Somerset. The work falls within repair and maintenance services for electrical and mechanical building installations (CPV 50710000). This is a single-service requirement, awarded to Fulbourn Medical Limited, an SME based in Huntingdon. Suppliers with relevant healthcare maintenance capability, particularly experience supporting theatre lighting and emergency battery systems, would be aligned with the requirement.

The procurement has been completed and the contract was awarded to Fulbourn Medical Limited. It used a direct award below the relevant threshold, without competition. The contract was signed on 23 March 2026 and runs from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027. Its value is £11,836 excluding VAT and £14,203.20 including VAT. The award is active and the contract is active. There was one lot covering the full requirement. The published outcome identifies the service as electrical and mechanical installation maintenance. The evaluation basis was therefore the buyer’s direct-award route rather than a competitive assessment of tenders. The contracting authority is Somerset NHS Foundation Trust.

This award demonstrates a defined NHS requirement for planned maintenance of theatre operating lights and emergency battery units at hospital scale, delivered through a direct below-threshold route. A credible future supplier would need practical competence in servicing electrical equipment and emergency power systems, with the ability to support theatre environments where equipment reliability is important to clinical operations. Relevant experience maintaining operating-theatre lighting, battery-backed units and associated building services would help demonstrate fit. Suppliers should also be able to provide a dependable planned preventative maintenance service, coordinate access around hospital activity and respond appropriately to equipment faults. Fulbourn Medical Limited’s SME status shows that the requirement can be delivered by a specialist smaller business rather than only by a major national contractor.

## Notice

PPM annual service contract for Theatre operating lights and emergency battery units

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/081558-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 27 Aug 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Apr 2026 - 31 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £11,836 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Somerset NHS Foundation Trust |
| Locality | TAUNTON |
| Postcode area | Taunton |
| Postcode | TA1 5DA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLK South West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLK6 North Somerset, Somerset and Dorset |
| ITL 3 | TLK62 Somerset |
| Local authority | Somerset |
| Electoral ward | Bishop's Hull & Taunton West |
| Westminster constituency | Taunton and Wellington |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Fulbourn Medical |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 50 - Repair and maintenance services

### Codes

- 50710000 - Repair and maintenance services of electrical and mechanical building installations

## Release History

- 27 Aug 2026 at 08:07 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/081558-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/081558-2026
  27th August 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://fulbournmedical.com
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ed17.json.
