---
title: "Greater Manchester Drugs Early Warning System (DEWS)"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Tender"
buyer: "Greater Manchester Combined Authority"
published: "2026-08-29"
---

# Greater Manchester Drugs Early Warning System (DEWS)

Buyer: Greater Manchester Combined Authority  
Current stage: Tender  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab.json)

## Summary

Greater Manchester Combined Authority is commissioning a Greater Manchester Drugs Early Warning System service. The work covers delivering and managing professional drug information networks for each of the 10 Greater Manchester local authority areas, overseeing the Greater Manchester Local Drug Information System alert panel, and writing and producing appropriate drug alerts. The supplier will also liaise with relevant national and regional organisations and systems about drug alerts and emerging drug trends. This is a public-sector drug intelligence, information management and alerting service, combining local professional networks with regional and national coordination. Delivery is across Greater Manchester, within the United Kingdom. The requirement is classified as a service and includes information systems and systems consultancy work.

The procurement has reached tender: the buyer invited offers through an open procedure. Enquiries had to be submitted by 18 September 2026 at 23:59, and offers by 24 September 2026 at 12:00. The contract is scheduled to run from 2 November 2026 to 1 November 2029, with two optional 12-month extensions potentially extending it to 31 October 2031. Its estimated value is £111,204 excluding VAT, or £133,444.80 including VAT. There is one lot. Evaluation is based on technical quality questions weighted at 95% and social value at 5%. Economic and technical selection requirements are set out in the ITT Pack. Electronic submission is allowed, in English. The award decision is due by 28 October 2026.

This opportunity suits organisations that can operate drug early-warning and public-health intelligence services across multiple local authority areas. Relevant suppliers will need to build and manage professional information networks, run or support an alert panel, assess emerging drug trends, and produce clear, timely drug alerts for professional use. The requirement also calls for effective liaison with national and regional organisations and with related information systems, so experience coordinating across public-health, drugs, emergency-response or similar networks would be useful. Suppliers should be able to combine information management, systems support, analysis and communication rather than provide a standalone software product. The opportunity is identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises, and the contract allows extensions subject to the appointed supplier meeting the authorities’ delivery expectations.

## Notice

The Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) is seeking to commission a service to; * Deliver and manage Professional Information Networks relating to drugs for each of the 10 Greater Manchester local authority areas, * Oversee the Greater Manchester Local Drug Information System alert panel, * Write and produce appropriate drug alerts, * Liaise with relevant national and regional organisations and systems regarding drug alerts and emerging drug trends.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Renewal: This requirement has the option of a 2 X 12 months extension, subject to the appointed supplier meeting the authorities delivery expectations.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082389-2026 |
| Notice type | UK4 - Tender Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Open procedure |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Tender |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 29 Aug 2026 |
| Submission deadline | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 2 Nov 2026 - 1 Nov 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £111,204 |
| Lots value | £111,204 |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Active |
| Lots status | Active |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Greater Manchester Combined Authority |
| Locality | MANCHESTER |
| Postcode area | Manchester |
| Postcode | M1 6EU |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLD North West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLD3 Greater Manchester |
| ITL 3 | TLD33 Manchester |
| Local authority | Manchester |
| Electoral ward | Deansgate |
| Westminster constituency | Manchester Central |
| Delivery location | TLD3 Greater Manchester |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 38 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)
- 48 - Software package and information systems
- 72 - IT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support

### Codes

- 38970000 - Research, testing and scientific technical simulator
- 48810000 - Information systems
- 72220000 - Systems and technical consultancy services
- 72240000 - Systems analysis and programming services
- 72250000 - System and support services
- 72800000 - Computer audit and testing services

## Release History

- 29 Aug 2026 at 10:56 - TenderUpdate - UK4 - Tender Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082389-2026
- 28 Aug 2026 at 14:29 - Tender - UK4 - Tender Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082232-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082389-2026
  29th August 2026 - Tender notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082232-2026
  28th August 2026 - Tender notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://procontract.due-north.com
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06eeab.json.
