---
title: "New Learner Pool at Didcot Wave Leisure Centre"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "South Oxfordshire District Council"
published: "2026-09-01"
---

# New Learner Pool at Didcot Wave Leisure Centre

Buyer: South Oxfordshire District Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23.json)

## Summary

South Oxfordshire District Council procured professional architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services for the new learner pool at Didcot Wave Leisure Centre. The requirement was to refine the pool design, improve cost certainty and maintain project momentum so that, if later stages were approved, delivery could progress in time to protect Section 106 funding. The work is located in Oxfordshire and relates to the council’s leisure-centre development programme. This is a services opportunity focused on design development and project cost assurance rather than construction delivery itself. The selected supplier was Alliance Leisure Services Limited, a large UK company based in Bristol, indicating a requirement delivered by a specialist leisure development or built-environment services provider.

The procurement is complete and was awarded through a limited call-off under an existing framework agreement, without a separate prior competition notice. The award procedure followed the framework’s award mechanism under the Public Contracts Regulations 2015. The single lot was recorded as cancelled, while the related award was active and the contract was active. Alliance Leisure Services Limited received the award. The contract value is £200,000 including the stated currency of GBP. The contract was signed on 6 July 2026. One bid was received, submitted electronically, and it was not from an SME. The stated award criterion was price. The process was covered by the Government Procurement Agreement. The requirement also concerned maintaining progress before Section 106 funding expires in October 2027.

For suppliers that did not secure this contract, the procurement demonstrates demand from South Oxfordshire District Council for specialist support in developing leisure-facility projects. A credible future competitor would need to refine designs for learner pools or comparable public leisure facilities, provide dependable cost certainty, and help a council maintain delivery momentum through approval and funding constraints. Experience coordinating design, construction and engineering inputs would be relevant, as would the ability to work through an established public-sector framework and follow its call-off award mechanism. Suppliers should be able to compete primarily on price while demonstrating the technical capability and capacity to support a substantial leisure development requirement. The appointed provider’s scale also indicates that a business pursuing similar work should be able to manage a sizeable, multi-disciplinary council project.

## Notice

To refine the design of the new learner pool. Achieving greater cost certainty for the project. Maintaining momentum on the project to ensure that should the next stages be approved, the project has the best chance of being delivered in time to avoid loss of Section 106 funding allocated to the project (expires in October 2027).

### Lot Information

Lot 1

To refine the design of the new learner pool. Achieving greater cost certainty for the project. Maintaining momentum on the project to ensure that should the next stages be approved, the project has the best chance of being delivered in time to avoid loss of Section 106 funding allocated to the project (expires in October 2027).

### Procurement Information

The contract has been awarded under the terms of an existing framework agreement that was established in accordance with the Public Contracts Regulations 2015. The call-off contract was awarded in accordance with the framework's award mechanism and no separate contract notice was required. This notice has been published in accordance with FTS requirements to publish contract awards over PS30k

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082439-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 1 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £200,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | South Oxfordshire District Council |
| Locality | ABINGDON |
| Postcode area | Oxford |
| Postcode | OX14 3JE |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLJ South East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLJ1 Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire |
| ITL 3 | TLJ14 Oxfordshire CC |
| Local authority | Vale of White Horse |
| Electoral ward | Abingdon Abbey Northcourt |
| Westminster constituency | Oxford West and Abingdon |
| Delivery location | TLJ14 Oxfordshire CC |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Alliance Leisure Services Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 71000000 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

## Release History

- 1 Sep 2026 at 09:00 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082439-2026

## Notice URLs

- http://www.southoxon.gov.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06ef23.json.
