---
title: "Newbiggin Hall Phase 2 Window and Door Replacement"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06f034"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f034"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f034.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f034.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Newcastle City Council"
published: "2026-09-02"
---

# Newbiggin Hall Phase 2 Window and Door Replacement

Buyer: Newcastle City Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06f034

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f034)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f034.json)

## Summary

Newcastle City Council intends to appoint an external works contractor to replace windows and doors across the Newbiggin Hall Phase 2 estate in Newcastle upon Tyne. The work covers two areas: East Thorpe and West Thorpe, with properties addressed in two phases. This is a housing refurbishment and construction project involving replacement windows and external doors to residential properties. The council is the public-sector buyer and will use one contractor for the planned works. The procurement is classified as construction work. The published scope identifies 171 properties in East Thorpe and 153 properties in West Thorpe, giving suppliers a clear indication of the type and scale of estate-based replacement programme being considered.

This procurement is at the planning stage: Newcastle City Council has announced its intention to procure, but this is not an invitation to tender. The council expects to use an open competition below the applicable threshold. It intends to tender in September or October 2026. The planned contract period is 5 April 2027 to 30 March 2029, with East Thorpe works in financial year 2027/28 and West Thorpe works in financial year 2028/29. The estimated value is £2.75 million excluding VAT, or £3.3 million including VAT. There is one planned lot covering the full programme. The lot is identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises.

This will suit building and property refurbishment contractors able to manage a two-year window and door replacement programme across occupied or residential housing stock. Suppliers should be prepared to deliver work in two phases and coordinate activity across 324 properties in East Thorpe and West Thorpe. The requirement is likely to favour contractors with the workforce, site management, surveying, installation and health and safety arrangements needed for a sizeable estate-wide programme. It may also suit specialist window and door replacement firms that can act as the external main contractor, as well as larger construction businesses with relevant housing refurbishment capability. The council has indicated that small and medium-sized enterprises are suitable participants, so smaller firms should monitor the forthcoming competition and prepare their delivery capacity.

## Notice

Newbiggin Hall Phase 2 Window and Door Replacement. Newcastle City Council wishes to appoint an external contractor, for the replacement of windows and doors to the following estate in two phases split over two financial years: * Phase 2A East Thorpe - - 171 nr properties (2027/28) * Phase 2B West Thorpe - 153 nr properties (2028/29) The opportunity should be tendered in September/October 2026

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082973-2026 |
| Notice type | UK1 - Pipeline Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - open competition |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 2 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 5 Apr 2027 - 30 Mar 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £2,750,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planned |
| Lots status | Planned |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Newcastle City Council |
| Locality | NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE |
| Postcode area | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Postcode | NE1 8QH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC43 Tyneside |
| Local authority | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Electoral ward | Monument |
| Westminster constituency | Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West |
| Delivery location | TLC North East (England), TLD North West (England), TLE Yorkshire and The Humber, TLF East Midlands (England), TLG West Midlands (England), TLH East (England), TLI London, TLJ South East (England), TLK South West (England) |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45000000 - Construction work

## Release History

- 2 Sep 2026 at 11:09 - Planning - UK1 - Pipeline Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082973-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/082973-2026
  2nd September 2026 - Pipeline notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.newcastle.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f034. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f034.json.
