---
title: "Oriel - Digital Wayfinding Service"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust"
published: "2026-09-04"
---

# Oriel - Digital Wayfinding Service

Buyer: Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba.json)

## Summary

Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust intends to procure a single-supplier digital wayfinding service for the new Moorfields and UCL Centre for Eye Health at St Pancras, within the wider Oriel Programme. The service is a software and information-systems solution for patients, visitors, staff and students. Its scope includes interactive digital building maps, destination search, point-to-point routing, multi-floor and step-free navigation, mobile-web access without an app download, and QR-code access points. It must connect with the Patient Self-Service Check-In kiosk to generate routes after check-in and integrate with Indoor Location Services where available, while operating without that positioning capability. Accessibility and inclusive navigation are central, including audio navigation and validation of step-free routes with visually impaired users. Delivery is at the St Pancras facility in London.

This procurement is at the planning stage: the buyer has stated an intention to procure, not invited tenders. It expects to use a two-stage Competitive Flexible Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023, with a future notice expected on 5 September 2026. The buyer conducted confidential one-to-one supplier briefing sessions between March and July 2026; this validated feasibility, integration requirements and the output-based specification, without seeking expressions of interest or shortlisting suppliers. The estimated value is £470,000 excluding VAT, or £564,000 including VAT. The anticipated contract period is 2 December 2026 to 1 December 2028, with two optional one-year extensions and a maximum extent to 1 December 2029. One lot is planned. Award will use the most advantageous tender: 60% quality, 10% social value and 30% price.

The planned work will suit suppliers experienced in digital wayfinding, accessible user-centred software and smart-building integrations. Relevant capability includes developing interactive maps, search and routing across multiple floors, step-free route logic, mobile web services and QR-code entry points. Suppliers should be able to integrate with patient check-in kiosks and indoor location infrastructure, while designing a robust service that remains useful when real-time positioning is unavailable or immature. Strong accessibility expertise will be important, particularly audio navigation and co-design or testing with visually impaired users. The buyer is also seeking operational adoption and governance, reliable data and integration, and a compliant, accessible platform for a healthcare setting. The procurement is identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises and voluntary, community or social enterprises, giving specialist providers scope to prepare before the market stage.

## Notice

"This procurement is for the Digital Wayfinding smart service supporting the new Moorfields and UCL Centre for Eye Health at St Pancras, part of the wider Oriel Programme. The Authority will appoint a single supplier to deliver a compliant, accessible digital wayfinding platform enabling patients, visitors, staff and students to navigate the building confidently and independently, expressed as outputs across five areas: search, routing and map display; user interface and access channels; accessibility and inclusive navigation; Smart Services integration and data; and operational adoption and governance. Core functional requirements include interactive digital building maps, destination search and point-to-point routing, multi-floor and step-free navigation, mobile-web access without app download, and QR-code access points at key locations across the building. The solution must integrate with the Patient Self-Service Check-In kiosk for post-check-in route generation, and with the Indoor Location Services (RTLS) infrastructure where available, while functioning fully where RTLS positioning is unavailable or immature at Day-1. Given the high proportion of visually impaired patients served by Moorfields, accessibility is a primary requirement throughout, including audio navigation, and step-free routing validated with representative visually impaired users ahead of go-live. The contract is being procured via a Competitive Flexible Procedure under section 20(2)(b) of the Procurement Act 2023, run in two stages. The initial term is two years, with two further one-year extension options available at the Authority's discretion. Award will be on the basis of the most advantageous tender, evaluated 60% quality, 10% social value and 30% price."

### Planning Information

The Authority conducted soft market engagement through a series of structured one-to-one supplier briefing sessions held during the period March to July 2026. Suppliers were identified through desk research and the Authority's knowledge of the digital wayfinding market. 
Each session followed a standard 60-minute agenda covering: (1) Moorfields and UCL Centre for Eye Health context and Day-1 scope; (2) supplier capability overview; (3) requirement walkthrough; (4) technical and operational discussion; and (5) market insight and risks. Suppliers were provided with a Supplier Briefing Pack. Sessions were conducted on a confidential basis. There was no obligation on suppliers to participate and no commitment was made to any supplier as a result of the engagement. Supplier input was used to validate Day-1 feasibility, shape integration requirements, and refine the Output Based Specification before procurement. No expressions of interest were sought and no shortlisting took place during the engagement.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/084083-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Dynamic |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 4 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 5 Sep 2026 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 2 Dec 2026 - 1 Dec 2028 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £470,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Moorfields Eye Hospital NHS Foundation Trust |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | Central London |
| Postcode | EC1V 2PD |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI4 Inner London - East |
| ITL 3 | TLI43 Haringey and Islington |
| Local authority | Islington |
| Electoral ward | Bunhill |
| Westminster constituency | Islington South and Finsbury |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 48 - Software package and information systems

### Codes

- 48000000 - Software package and information systems

## Release History

- 4 Sep 2026 at 16:32 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/084083-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/084083-2026
  4th September 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.moorfields.nhs.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f2ba.json.
