---
title: "Occupational Health - Market Engagement"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06f363"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f363"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f363.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f363.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Newcastle City Council"
published: "2026-09-07"
---

# Occupational Health - Market Engagement

Buyer: Newcastle City Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06f363

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f363)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f363.json)

## Summary

Newcastle City Council is reviewing its occupational health provision and is seeking market input on service models for its workforce. The anticipated service scope covers occupational health services, medical assessments and analysis, physiotherapy, counselling, medical personnel and wider company health support. The Council wants to understand how providers could deliver these services, including innovative approaches and different service models. Delivery is expected across the United Kingdom. This is a services requirement and may suit occupational health providers, healthcare organisations, clinical networks and specialist suppliers able to offer integrated workplace health services. The scope may be refined after the Council assesses the market and considers how best to structure any future procurement.

This procurement is at the planning and preliminary market-engagement stage, not a competition or invitation to tender. Newcastle City Council is using the engagement to inform its options appraisal, future scope, specification, procurement route and commercial model. Suppliers are invited to complete the occupational health market engagement questionnaire by 5 October 2026. The Council currently expects any resulting contract to run from 1 May 2027 to 1 May 2030, with renewal potential extending the maximum period to 1 May 2032. The estimated value is £1.5 million excluding VAT, or £1.8 million including VAT. The requirement is divided into one lot and is above the relevant threshold.

This engagement will suit providers with established occupational health capability and the capacity to support a public-sector workforce across the United Kingdom. Relevant expertise includes workplace health assessments, medical analysis, physiotherapy, counselling, clinical advice and access to suitably qualified medical personnel. Suppliers able to combine several of these services, explain alternative delivery models and demonstrate practical innovation will be well placed to contribute to the Council’s review. The Council is specifically seeking evidence of supplier capacity, available service models, indicative costs and potential approaches to delivery. Organisations should prepare clear information on their operating model, clinical coverage, workforce capacity and ability to support a future integrated service.

## Notice

The Council is undertaking an initial review of its occupational health service provision and is seeking to engage with the market to understand available service models, supplier capacity, innovation, indicative costs and potential approaches to delivery. This soft market engagement exercise is intended to inform the Council's options appraisal and any future procurement strategy. It does not constitute a call for competition, nor does it commit the Council to commencing a procurement process or awarding any contract. The Council may use information gathered through this engagement to help shape the scope, specification, procurement route and commercial model for any future opportunity.

### Planning Information

An engagement questionnaire, entitled '009635 Occupational Health Market - Engagement Questionnaire' will be accessible via the OPEN platform (www.open-uk.org). Suppliers are invited to complete and return this document by the engagement deadline.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/084355-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 7 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 May 2027 - 1 May 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £1,500,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Newcastle City Council |
| Locality | NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE |
| Postcode area | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Postcode | NE1 8QH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC43 Tyneside |
| Local authority | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Electoral ward | Monument |
| Westminster constituency | Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West |
| Delivery location | TLC2 Northumberland, and Tyne and Wear |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 33 - Medical equipments, pharmaceuticals and personal care products
- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 33630000 - Medicinal products for dermatology and the musculo-skeletal system
- 85141000 - Services provided by medical personnel
- 85142100 - Physiotherapy services
- 85147000 - Company health services
- 85148000 - Medical analysis services
- 85312320 - Counselling services

## Release History

- 7 Sep 2026 at 12:31 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/084355-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/084355-2026
  7th September 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.newcastle.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f363. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f363.json.
