---
title: "BAPA Network Rail"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Stockton on Tees Borough Council"
published: "2026-09-09"
---

# BAPA Network Rail

Buyer: Stockton on Tees Borough Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d.json)

## Summary

Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council procured access arrangements for inspections on Network Rail’s operational rail infrastructure. The requirement is classified as works and covers railway-related construction activity, including work associated with pipelines, communications, power lines, roads and railways. Network Rail controls access to its operational rail network, so the purpose of this procurement was to enable the required inspections to take place safely and lawfully. Delivery is in the Stockton-on-Tees area. The appointed provider is Network Rail Certification Body, a small or medium-sized enterprise associated with Network Rail. This requirement is therefore relevant to businesses involved in rail infrastructure access, inspection support or related railway works, particularly those able to operate within Network Rail’s access and operational arrangements.

The procurement is complete and has been awarded. Stockton-on-Tees Borough Council made a direct award below the applicable threshold and without competition, because Network Rail was identified as the only organisation authorised to grant access to its operational rail infrastructure and the sole provider capable of delivering the necessary access arrangements. One lot was awarded to Network Rail Certification Body. The contract was signed on 7 September 2026 and runs from 1 October 2026 to 31 March 2027. Its value is £44,326 including tax. The contract is active. The procurement was evaluated on the basis that access could only be provided by Network Rail, rather than through a competitive assessment of alternative suppliers.

For a supplier that did not win this procurement, the requirement demonstrates a narrowly controlled market in which authority to access operational rail infrastructure is decisive. A credible competitor for comparable work would need established rail-sector capability, the operational competence to support infrastructure inspections, and the permissions, relationships or delivery arrangements required to work within Network Rail’s network. Experience of railway environments, safe working practices, inspection coordination and access planning would be commercially relevant. The buyer’s use of a direct award also shows that supplier eligibility may depend on exclusive infrastructure access rights rather than price competition. Businesses without those rights are unlikely to compete for this exact requirement, but specialist rail organisations able to secure authorised access and deliver inspection support would be better placed when similar needs arise.

## Notice

Network Rail is the only organisation authorised to grant access for the undertaking of inspections on its operational rail infrastructure. As access to the rail network can only be provided by Network Rail, there is no viable competitive tender or procurement route available. Accordingly, a direct award is required, as Network Rail is the sole provider capable of delivering the necessary access arrangements to enable the inspections to be undertaken.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/085352-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 9 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Oct 2026 - 31 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £44,326 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Stockton on Tees Borough Council |
| Locality | STOCKTON ON TEES |
| Postcode area | Cleveland |
| Postcode | TS17 6BJ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC3 Tees Valley |
| ITL 3 | TLC31 Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees |
| Local authority | Stockton-on-Tees |
| Electoral ward | Mandale & Victoria |
| Westminster constituency | Middlesbrough and Thornaby East |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Network Rail Certification Body |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45230000 - Construction work for pipelines, communication and power lines, for highways, roads, airfields and railways; flatwork

## Release History

- 9 Sep 2026 at 12:27 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/085352-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/085352-2026
  9th September 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.net-cert.co.uk
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f58d.json.
