---
title: "Home Care Spot Purchasing"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "West Northamptonshire Council"
published: "2026-09-15"
---

# Home Care Spot Purchasing

Buyer: West Northamptonshire Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab.json)

## Summary

West Northamptonshire Council commissioned adult home care services through a spot-purchasing arrangement for an individual with assessed care and support needs. The service covers tailored care, support, supervision and wellbeing provision within an individual support arrangement, with the aim of maintaining or improving the person’s health, wellbeing, independence and quality of life. This is a health and social work services requirement (CPV 85000000) delivered in West Northamptonshire. The council is the buyer. The work is suited to care providers able to deliver personalised adult social care in the community, respond to assessed needs and maintain continuity of support for an individual service user. The arrangement concerns one completed lot and is identified as suitable for small and medium-sized enterprises.

The procurement has been awarded following a direct award below the relevant threshold, without competition, under the light-touch regime. The tender is complete and the selected supplier is D.J.HOWARD LIMITED, trading as Bluebird Care Milton Keynes. The award date is 15 September 2026. Its value is £101,816 excluding VAT and £122,179 including VAT. The award covers one lot and the contract period runs from 15 September 2026 to 15 September 2030. The requirement followed an assessment under the Care Act 2014, with the provider selected to ensure timely delivery and continuity of care. The award record shows a planned signature milestone on 15 September 2026. Evaluation was not competitive: the supplier was appointed directly for the identified individual support arrangement.

This award demonstrates demand from West Northamptonshire Council for personalised adult home care arranged around an individual’s assessed needs, rather than a standardised care package. A credible future competitor would need the operational capacity to provide reliable care, support and supervision over a sustained individual arrangement, while adapting delivery to changing health, wellbeing and independence outcomes. Continuity of care and timely mobilisation were central to the stated purpose, so providers would need dependable staffing, service coordination and the ability to work from Care Act assessments. The awarded supplier is an SME, indicating that this type of requirement can be delivered by a smaller specialist care business. Relevant experience in adult social care, community-based support and outcome-focused personalised care would strengthen a provider’s position when similar needs are considered.

## Notice

This contract relates to the spot purchasing of adult social care services to meet an identified individual's assessed care and support needs. The placement has been commissioned following assessment in accordance with the Care Act 2014 and is intended to deliver appropriate care, support, supervision and wellbeing outcomes tailored to the person's individual requirements. The contract has been awarded to a provider to ensure continuity of care and the timely delivery of services within an individual support arrangement. The arrangement is expected to contribute to maintaining or improving the individual's health, wellbeing, independence and quality of life outcomes.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087111-2026 |
| Notice type | UK5 - Transparency Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 15 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 15 Sep 2026 - 15 Sep 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £101,816 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Pending |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | West Northamptonshire Council |
| Locality | NORTHAMPTON |
| Postcode area | Northampton |
| Postcode | NN1 1ED |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLF East Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLF2 Leicestershire, Rutland and Northamptonshire |
| ITL 3 | TLF24 West Northamptonshire |
| Local authority | West Northamptonshire |
| Electoral ward | Castle |
| Westminster constituency | Northampton North |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | D.J.HOWARD LIMITED |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85000000 - Health and social work services

## Release History

- 15 Sep 2026 at 09:24 - Award - UK5 - Transparency Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087111-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087111-2026
  15th September 2026 - Transparency notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.bluebirdcare.co.uk/milton-keynes
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.westnorthants.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06f9ab.json.
