---
title: "Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) Phase One"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "North East Combined Authority"
published: "2026-09-16"
---

# Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) Phase One

Buyer: North East Combined Authority  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc.json)

## Summary

North East Combined Authority is developing Phase One of the Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure programme, a public electric vehicle charging infrastructure service across North East England. The programme aims to accelerate publicly accessible EV charging, particularly for residents without access to off-street parking. The scope is expected to include the supply and installation of EV chargers, associated electrical installation, charging-system maintenance and related installation services. The work is intended for delivery across the North East, including the areas covered by the authority’s participating local regions. The procurement is a concession-focused service requirement, with installed chargepoints likely to remain owned by the relevant local authority. Phase One forms part of the wider North East Mayoral Strategic Authority LEVI programme.

This procurement is at the planning and early market-engagement stage; it is not yet an invitation to tender. The buyer is considering an open-market concession contract and expects to use supplier feedback to shape its procurement strategy, commercial model and future documents. The planned engagement is scheduled to close on 8 October 2026, with suppliers invited to book appointments with the Zero Emission Vehicle Team. The planned contract period is 1 April 2027 to 31 March 2042. The estimated Phase One value is £5,000,000 excluding VAT, or £5,250,000 including VAT. There is one planned lot, with the buyer indicating that the successful supplier may make fixed annual payments for the first five years, followed by revenue sharing.

The engagement will suit organisations that operate EV charging infrastructure or can provide the combined capabilities needed to supply, install and maintain public chargepoints. Relevant businesses are likely to include charging-network operators, electrical installation specialists, infrastructure investors and service providers with experience of long-term concession or revenue-based models. The buyer is seeking evidence of organisational capacity to bid for further LEVI tenders, previous experience of LEVI procurements, and practical lessons from comparable work. Suppliers should be prepared to assess the commercial implications of using Government Commercial Agency LEVI concession templates, local-authority ownership of installed assets, fixed annual payments followed by revenue sharing, and the operational responsibilities associated with maintaining a public charging network. SMEs and voluntary, community or social enterprises are identified as suitable participants.

## Notice

The Local Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (LEVI) Fund is a UK Government programme established to accelerate the delivery of publicly accessible electric vehicle (EV) charging infrastructure across England, with a particular focus on supporting residents without access to off-street parking. The North East Mayoral Strategic Authority (North East MSA) has secured PS15.829 million of LEVI capital funding, with approximately PS5 million allocated to Phase 1 delivery.

### Planning Information

The North East MSA is currently developing its Phase 1 procurement approach and is seeking to engage with organisations operating in the EV charging infrastructure market. As part of this early market engagement, suppliers are invited to book an appointment with the North East MSA Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Team to discuss potential procurement approaches and provide market insight.
This engagement is for early market engagement purposes only and does not constitute the commencement of a procurement process. Participation in this engagement will not provide any supplier with an advantage in any future procurement, and suppliers who do not participate will not be disadvantaged. Any procurement opportunity that may follow will be advertised and conducted in accordance with the applicable procurement rules.
Information gathered through this engagement may be used by The North East MSA to inform its procurement strategy, commercial model and future procurement documents. The North East MSA will treat commercially sensitive information appropriately and will not use information in a way that gives any supplier an unfair advantage or distorts competition.
The North East MSA would welcome supplier feedback on the following discussion areas:
Question One: Organisation Status and Capacity
Given the number of LEVI procurements currently in the market, what capacity does your organisation expect to have to bid on further LEVI tenders over the next 12 months? Has your organisation previously bid for LEVI tenders? If not, please explain the reason for this.
Question Two: Procurement Approach
The North East MSA is currently considering multiple procurement approaches, one of which is an open market concession contract. Would this approach be commercially viable/attractive to your organisation? Are there any factors that may influence your organisation’s ability to bid?
Question Three: GCA Templates
Please provide your views on the appropriateness of the Government Commercial Agency (GCA) LEVI Concession templates. Would your organisation consider bidding for an opportunity on the basis of these templates being used? Please explain your response.
Question Four: Asset Ownership
Under the proposed commercial model, it is likely that installed chargepoints would remain in the ownership of the relevant local authority. Would your organisation consider bidding for an opportunity on this basis? Please explain your response.
Question Five: Payment
Under the proposed commercial model, it is likely that the successful supplier will be required to make a fixed annual payment for the first five years of the contract term (amount to be confirmed), followed by a revenue sharing arrangement for the remainder of the contract term. Would your organisation consider bidding for an opportunity on this basis? Please explain your response.
Question Six: lessons learned
Please provide any feedback from your experience to date that may be relevant to the North East’s phase one LEVI procurement.
Suppliers should use the link below to select and book a suitable appointment time.
https://bookings.cloud.microsoft/bookwithme/user/97ba6bc8a20749f3ab9680063a27a7d2%40northeast-ca.gov.uk/meetingtype/LPWOVx63lU2sDys20aFnUw2?bookingcode=3fba6f6a-7cb3-480a-bd8e-195943da59eb&anonymous&ismsaljsauthenabled

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087584-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Apr 2027 - 1 Apr 2042 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £5,000,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | North East Combined Authority |
| Locality | NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE |
| Postcode area | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Postcode | NE4 5BZ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC43 Tyneside |
| Local authority | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Electoral ward | Arthur's Hill |
| Westminster constituency | Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West |
| Delivery location | TLC14 Durham, TLC2 Northumberland, and Tyne and Wear |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 31 - Electrical machinery, apparatus, equipment and consumables; lighting
- 45 - Construction work
- 50 - Repair and maintenance services
- 51 - Installation services (except software)

### Codes

- 31158000 - Chargers
- 45310000 - Electrical installation work
- 50324100 - System maintenance services
- 51110000 - Installation services of electrical equipment

## Release History

- 16 Sep 2026 at 09:35 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087584-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087584-2026
  16th September 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://bookings.cloud.microsoft/bookwithme/user/97ba6bc8a20749f3ab9680063a27a7d2%40northeast-ca.gov.uk/meetingtype/LPWOVx63lU2sDys20aFnUw2?bookingcode=3fba6f6a-7cb3-480a-bd8e-195943da59eb&anonymous&ismsaljsauthenabled
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fabc.json.
