---
title: "QHM-2025-8776 Minor Surgery"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS NORTH EAST AND NORTH CUMBRIA INTEGRATED CARE BOARD"
published: "2026-09-16"
---

# QHM-2025-8776 Minor Surgery

Buyer: NHS NORTH EAST AND NORTH CUMBRIA INTEGRATED CARE BOARD  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7.json)

## Summary

NHS North East and North Cumbria Integrated Care Board is procuring minor surgery services for patients in North East England. The requirement is a health service delivered on an ad hoc basis, with the existing provider continuing to perform minor surgical procedures under the proposed arrangement. The buying organisation is based in Sunderland, while the selected provider, The Headland Medical Centre, is based in Hartlepool. This is a healthcare services requirement rather than a supply of goods, construction project or general facilities service. It may suit GP practices, community healthcare providers, outpatient clinics and other organisations with the clinical capability and local presence to deliver minor surgery safely and reliably for NHS patients.

The procurement has reached the award stage, with The Headland Medical Centre selected under the Provider Selection Regime through a direct award without prior publication of a competition. The award date was 1 July 2026, and the contract is recorded as active. It runs from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2027; services have been delivered from the start date under an implied contract. The stated contract value is £29,943, although delivery is ad hoc and the final value cannot be confirmed. The arrangement was assessed on quality and cost, with each criterion described as 100%. One bid was recorded. The process is subject to a PSR standstill, with representations due by midnight on 27 September 2026, and formal award after the ninth working day following standstill.

This award indicates recurring NHS demand for locally delivered minor surgery and shows that continuity, satisfactory performance under an existing contract and confidence in future service quality were central to provider selection. A competitor seeking similar work would need an established minor surgery service, appropriately qualified clinical staff, suitable premises and the capacity to respond to ad hoc referrals. Evidence of safe, reliable delivery against NHS requirements would be important, alongside credible cost control and service quality. Providers with experience of community or primary care surgery in North East England, strong clinical governance and the ability to maintain consistent performance at modest contract scale would be well placed when this requirement is next reviewed.

## Notice

Minor Surgery

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Minor Surgery The relevant authority intends to award a contract to an existing provider under Direct Award C under the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) regulations 2023. The contract value is PS29943. The contract value cannot be confirmed as the services carried out within this contract are ad hoc. Contract Start Date: 01/04/2026 Contract End Date: 31/03/2027 Although the contract start is 01/04/2026, the services have been delivered on an implied contract

### Procurement Information

This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 and the Procurement Regulations 2024 do not apply to this award. The publication of this notice marks the start of the Standstill Period. Representations by providers must be made to decision makers by midnight on 27/09/2026. This contract has not yet formally been awarded; this notice serves as an intention to award under the PSR. A contract will not be awarded until after the 9th working day following standstill.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087627-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 16 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £29,943 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS NORTH EAST AND NORTH CUMBRIA INTEGRATED CARE BOARD |
| Locality | SUNDERLAND |
| Postcode area | Sunderland |
| Postcode | SR5 3XB |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC44 Sunderland |
| Local authority | Sunderland |
| Electoral ward | Castle |
| Westminster constituency | Washington and Gateshead South |
| Delivery location | TLC North East (England) |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | The Headland Medical Centre |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85000000 - Health and social work services

## Release History

- 16 Sep 2026 at 10:24 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/087627-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://northeastnorthcumbria.nhs.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-06fad7.json.
