---
title: "Cambridgeshire Coroners - Direct Award B awards."
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07749d"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07749d"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07749d.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07749d.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Cambridgeshire County Council"
published: "2026-09-17"
---

# Cambridgeshire Coroners - Direct Award B awards.

Buyer: Cambridgeshire County Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07749d

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07749d)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07749d.json)

## Summary

Cambridgeshire County Council has commissioned specialist medical services for Cambridgeshire coroners. The requirement supports coronial work and is provided by individual practitioners and a specialist company, with each provider holding a separate contract for the service delivered to the Coroner. The providers are Jane Weston, Mr J Lewis, Mr J Burgess and Surgical Jurisprudence Ltd. The work is delivered for the Cambridgeshire coroners service, covering Cambridgeshire locations. This is a public-sector healthcare and medico-legal requirement rather than general clinical provision: relevant businesses are those able to provide specialist medical expertise for coronial cases, including suitably experienced individual practitioners and specialist organisations.

The procurement has been awarded and the contracts are active. Cambridgeshire County Council used Provider Selection Regime direct award process B, a limited procedure without a prior call for competition. The initial contract period runs from 7 September to 17 September 2026. Contracts were signed on 7 September 2026 with Jane Weston for £150, Mr J Lewis for £3,000 and Mr J Burgess for £4,000; Surgical Jurisprudence Ltd’s contract was signed on 17 September 2026 for £5,000. Four providers were selected. Evaluation was based entirely on patient choice, weighted at 100%; price carried a weighting of 0%. The procurement record shows one lot, although that lot is marked cancelled while the four related awards remain active.

For a supplier that did not receive an award, this procurement demonstrates that Cambridgeshire County Council uses multiple providers for coronial specialist medical services, with separate contracts for individual services. The selected supplier profile includes three SMEs operating as individual practitioners and one specialist medico-legal company, indicating that the requirement can suit both experienced professionals and focused specialist businesses rather than only large healthcare providers. A credible competitor would need specialist medical capability relevant to coroners’ work, practical experience of delivering the required service, and the capacity to provide it across Cambridgeshire. Because patient choice was the sole stated evaluation basis, suppliers should be able to demonstrate a strong patient-focused service and explain how their clinical expertise supports coronial cases.

## Notice

The Contract awards have been made following direct award process B under the Provider Selection Regime (PSR) Dates between which the contract provide the services: Initial contract award period : 7 September to 17 September 2026 The awarded services and providers are existing. Each provider has an individual contract for the service that they provided to the Coroner.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

The Contract awards have been made following direct award process B under the Provider Selection Regime (PSR) Dates between which the contract provide the services: Initial contract award period: 7 September to 17 September 2026 The awarded services and providers are existing. Each provider has an individual contract for the service that they provided to the Coroner.

### Procurement Information

This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) direct award process B notice, confirming the decision to award contracts. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contract Regulations 2015 do not apply.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/088303-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 17 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £12,150 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Cambridgeshire County Council |
| Locality | HUNTINGDON |
| Postcode area | Peterborough |
| Postcode | PE28 4YE |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLH East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLH4 Cambridgeshire and Peterborough |
| ITL 3 | TLH42 Cambridgeshire CC |
| Local authority | Huntingdonshire |
| Electoral ward | The Stukeleys |
| Westminster constituency | Huntingdon |
| Delivery location | TLH11 Peterborough, TLH12 Cambridgeshire CC |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 4 |
| Supplier names | Jane Weston; Mr J Lewis; Mr J Burgess; Surgical Jurisprudence Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85121200 - Medical specialist services

## Release History

- 17 Sep 2026 at 14:56 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/088303-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://www.cambridgeshire.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07749d. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07749d.json.
