---
title: "ALLTWEN FRANKING MACHINE"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07779a"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07779a"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07779a.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07779a.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services"
published: "2026-09-22"
---

# ALLTWEN FRANKING MACHINE

Buyer: NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07779a

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07779a)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07779a.json)

## Summary

Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board procured a franking machine service for high-volume postal operations. The machine is used to send essential patient communications and corporate mail, calculate postage accurately, apply discounted postal rates, print prepaid postal marks and track departmental spending. The requirement is a service centred on postage-franking equipment rather than general IT support, although it was classified under IT services. Delivery is for the Health Board’s operations in North Wales. NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services, hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust, acted as the buying and central purchasing organisation. The requirement supports secure, controlled and cost-conscious mailing across the Health Board, with particular relevance to suppliers of franking machines, associated software, postage-management systems and operational support.

The procurement is complete and was awarded following a limited procedure without prior publication of a competition notice. The stated rationale was that the incumbent supplier was retained after no suitable tenders or requests to participate had resulted from a restricted procedure. One electronic bid was received, from an SME, and the award was made on price. Quadient UK Limited and Quadient UK were named as the awarded suppliers. The contract was signed on 18 September 2026 and is active, with a value of £122,820. The procurement involved a framework agreement. The requirement was structured as one lot, and that lot is recorded as cancelled even though an active award and contract are recorded against it. No contract duration or end date is provided.

This award shows that the Health Board’s mailing operation requires dependable franking equipment capable of handling large volumes of essential patient and corporate communications. A credible future competitor would need to provide accurate postage calculation, prepaid postal-mark printing, access to postal discounts and reliable tracking of departmental expenditure. Suppliers should also be able to support secure, controlled use across a healthcare organisation, where interruptions could affect important patient communications. The successful route was a restricted, incumbent-led award with a single electronic bid, and the selected supplier was recorded as an SME. Businesses with proven franking-machine capability, strong service support, postage-management software and experience maintaining reliable equipment for high-volume institutional mail are therefore the closest fit for this buyer’s recurring requirement.

## Notice

BETSI CADWALDR UNIVERSITY HEALTH CARE ARE PROCURRING FOR ALTWEN FRANKING MACHINES

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board use this franking machine to post large volumes of essential patient communications and corporate mail. They ensure precise postage calculations and secure significant discounts compared to standard stamps. This franking machine print prepaid postal marks and track spending across the department.

### Procurement Information

incumbent supplier

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/089672-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Framework |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 22 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £122,820 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership-Procurement Services |
| Locality | CARDIFF |
| Postcode area | Cardiff |
| Postcode | CF15 7QZ |
| Country | Wales |
| ITL 1 | TLL Wales |
| ITL 2 | TLL5 South East Wales |
| ITL 3 | TLL51 Central Valleys and Bridgend |
| Local authority | Rhondda Cynon Taf |
| Electoral ward | Taff's Well |
| Westminster constituency | Cardiff North |
| Delivery location | TLL Wales |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | QUADIENT UK LIMITED |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 30 - Office and computing machinery, equipment and supplies except furniture and software packages
- 72 - IT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support

### Codes

- 30144100 - Postage-franking machines
- 72000000 - IT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support

## Release History

- 22 Sep 2026 at 14:10 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/089672-2026

## Notice URLs

- http://nwssp.nhs.wales/ourservices/procurement-services/
- https://www.sell2wales.gov.wales/search/Search_AuthProfile.aspx?ID=AA0221

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07779a. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07779a.json.
