---
title: "Evaluation of the Widening Access Demonstrators Programme"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS England"
published: "2026-09-23"
---

# Evaluation of the Widening Access Demonstrators Programme

Buyer: NHS England  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0.json)

## Summary

NHS England commissioned an independent evaluation of its Widening Access Demonstrators programme, a health-services evaluation. The work is intended to assess the programme’s effectiveness, impact and value for money objectively and impartially. It also aims to draw together best-practice case studies and identify barriers and factors that help delivery, so that learning can inform a potential national roll-out. The programme is the specific focus of the evaluation; the procurement is not for general NHS evaluation or health-service delivery. The contract is with NHS England, a central government public authority. The data does not identify a delivery location, so the work should not be assumed to be based in a particular town or region.

The procurement is complete and the contract is active. NHS England used a below-threshold limited competition. There was one lot, and WAVEHILL LIMITED was selected for the health-services evaluation. The contract was signed on 8 July 2026 and runs from 8 July 2026 to 7 May 2027. Its value is £86,450 excluding VAT and £103,740 including VAT. The evaluation is a Ministerial requirement and a condition of support for the programme. Its stated basis is an independent assessment of effectiveness, impact and value for money, alongside gathering case studies and identifying cross-cutting barriers and facilitators to delivery. Findings are intended to codify best practice for a potential national roll-out in 2027–28.

For evaluation consultancies, this award shows NHS England buying focused, independent programme evaluation in health, with findings intended to inform policy and possible wider implementation. A credible competitor for similar work would need to demonstrate impartial evaluation capability, including assessing effectiveness, impact and value for money, and the ability to develop useful case studies from programme delivery. The brief also points to a need for analysis that can identify recurring barriers and facilitators across delivery settings and turn evidence into codified best practice. Suppliers with experience translating evaluation findings into practical learning for potential national adoption would be well placed. The award went to a large supplier through a limited competition, indicating that relevant evaluation experience and the capacity to deliver a defined programme assessment are pertinent in this buyer’s market.

## Notice

This is an independent evaluation of the Widening Access Demonstrators (WAD) programme, to ensure an objective and impartial assessment of effectiveness, impact and value for money. The evaluation is a Ministerial requirement, a condition of support for the programme and will aim to bring together best practice case studies and to identify cross-cutting barriers and facilitators to delivery to codify best practice for a potential future national roll-out in 2027-28.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090234-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 8 Jul 2026 - 7 May 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £86,450 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS England |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | South East London |
| Postcode | SE1 8UG |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI4 Inner London - East |
| ITL 3 | TLI45 Lambeth |
| Local authority | Lambeth |
| Electoral ward | Waterloo & South Bank |
| Westminster constituency | Vauxhall and Camberwell Green |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Wavehill Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85100000 - Health services

## Release History

- 23 Sep 2026 at 15:05 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090234-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090234-2026
  23rd September 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.england.nhs.uk/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0778d0.json.
