---
title: "PSR - Direct Award C - Transferring NHS patients to an ISP (outsourcing)"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077916"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077916"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077916.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077916.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Luton and Dunstable Hospital"
published: "2026-09-24"
---

# PSR - Direct Award C - Transferring NHS patients to an ISP (outsourcing)

Buyer: Luton and Dunstable Hospital  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077916

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077916)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077916.json)

## Summary

Bedfordshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust arranged for NHS patients needing gynaecological hospital treatment to be transferred to OSD Healthcare, an independent-sector provider, for treatment at the provider’s premises. The service provides outsourced elective care capacity to support the Trust’s patient pathway and reduce waiting times. The procurement covers patient treatment rather than construction or supply of equipment. The buyer is Bedfordshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust, based in Luton. The delivery location is given as the East of England region; the provider is based in Hemel Hempstead. The requirement is for a provider able to deliver elective hospital services safely and effectively, with the clinical oversight and operational arrangements needed to take on NHS patients.

The process reached an award decision under the Provider Selection Regime’s direct award process C, without a prior call for competition. OSD Healthcare was selected as the existing provider. The notice describes the procurement as an intention to award and says the contract had not yet been formally awarded; the contract data records it as active and signed on 23 September 2026. The contract value is £220,000, with a stated duration of six months. The award was assessed on quality and innovation, value, integration and collaboration, service sustainability, improved access, reducing health inequalities, patient choice and social value. The recorded lot is cancelled, although the award and contract are recorded as active. The selection rationale says the provider was judged to meet the existing requirement to a sufficient standard.

This award demonstrates a specific demand from Bedfordshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust for outsourced elective gynaecological care to help increase capacity and reduce waiting lists. A credible competitor for comparable work would need established clinical governance and oversight, strong patient-safety and quality-assurance arrangements, performance monitoring and evidence of positive patient outcomes. The Trust’s rationale also emphasised the ability to mobilise quickly, sustain service quality, manage efficient elective pathways and maximise treatment activity. Suppliers would need to show how their service improves patient access and supports patient choice while contributing to integration, collaboration and sustainable delivery. The award decision also considered value, innovation, reducing health inequalities and social value, so providers should be able to evidence those outcomes alongside clinical quality. This is a focused hospital-treatment requirement, not a general healthcare outsourcing opportunity.

## Notice

BHFT is transferring NHS patients to OSD, an independent sector provider, for treatment on their premises (outsourcing)

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Outsourcing of NHS patient activity to an independent sector provider. The intention is to award a contract to our existing provider, by following the Provider Selection Regime (PSR) direct award process C. Contract duration - 6 months Estimated value - PS220,000

### Procurement Information

Additional elective capacity is required as a matter of urgency to support Bedfordshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in reducing waiting times and delivering elective recovery objectives by March 2027. The provider has demonstrated the ability to deliver high-quality elective care with robust clinical governance, effective clinical oversight, and positive patient outcomes. The provider has established systems for quality assurance, patient safety, performance monitoring and continuous improvement, providing assurance that services will continue to be delivered to a high standard throughout the proposed contract term. The provider also offers an established and proven service model that can be mobilised quickly, enabling the additional capacity required to be made available within the necessary timescales. The proposed arrangement supports innovation through efficient elective pathways, streamlined processes and service delivery approaches designed to maximise activity, improve patient access and reduce waiting times whilst maintaining quality standards. Based on current performance and the provider's demonstrated capability, the commissioner is satisfied that the provider will be able to satisfy the new contract to a sufficient standard, delivering safe, effective and high-quality care while providing the additional elective capacity required to support waiting list reduction by March 2027.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090371-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £220,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Luton and Dunstable Hospital |
| Locality | LUTON |
| Postcode area | Luton |
| Postcode | LU4 0DZ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLH East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLH2 Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire |
| ITL 3 | TLH21 Luton |
| Local authority | Luton |
| Electoral ward | Poets |
| Westminster constituency | Luton North |
| Delivery location | TLH2 Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | OSD Healthcare |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85111300 - Gynaecological hospital services

## Release History

- 24 Sep 2026 at 08:39 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090371-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://www.bedfordshirehospitals.nhs.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077916. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077916.json.
