---
title: "Extension of Provision of Custodial Services for HMP/YOI Doncaster"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07794f"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07794f"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07794f.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07794f.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "SECRETARY OF STATE FOR JUSTICE"
published: "2026-09-24"
---

# Extension of Provision of Custodial Services for HMP/YOI Doncaster

Buyer: SECRETARY OF STATE FOR JUSTICE  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07794f

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07794f)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07794f.json)

## Summary

The Secretary of State for Justice is continuing custodial and related services at HMP/YOI Doncaster, a prison and young offender institution. This is a manage-and-maintain service covering day-to-day prison operations, including custodial services, facilities management, rehabilitation programmes and staffing. The extension continues the existing service on substantially the same basis. The work is delivered at HMP/YOI Doncaster in Doncaster, England.

The process has been awarded to Serco Ltd, and the contract has been signed. The contract was extended rather than competed: the authority says an investigation into the possible compromise of a separate procurement could not be completed before the existing contract ended, and that switching provider would create safety and mobilisation risks, inconvenience and duplicated costs. The contract was signed on 7 September 2026 and runs from 1 October 2026 to 30 September 2028. Its stated value is £411,808,635. This is a single-lot extension to the existing contract; the procurement data does not set out evaluation criteria for a competition.

For prison operators, the award demonstrates continuing demand from the Ministry of Justice for end-to-end custodial operation at HMP/YOI Doncaster, rather than a standalone staffing or facilities contract. A credible competitor when this requirement next reaches the market would need the capacity to manage daily prison operations safely, provide custodial staff and facilities management, and deliver rehabilitation programmes as an integrated service. The extension rationale also highlights the importance of safe mobilisation, operational continuity and stability, and the ability to take over a live prison without disruption. Experience managing comparable secure custodial environments and coordinating these services at scale would therefore be relevant. The buyer’s decision to extend the incumbent while investigating a procurement risk shows that continuity and a dependable transition are material considerations for this requirement.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

As detailed above, the HMP/YOI Doncaster contract is a Category B "Manage & Maintain" contract which is primarily a service-based agreement in which the provider is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the prison, including custodial services, facilities management, rehabilitation programmes, and staff provision. The extension is intended to ensure the continued delivery of the existing services on substantially the same basis.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090472-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Oct 2026 - 30 Sep 2028 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £411,808,635 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Not specified |
| Lots status | Not specified |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | SECRETARY OF STATE FOR JUSTICE |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | Not specified |
| Postcode | Not specified |
| Country | Not specified |
| ITL 1 | Not specified |
| ITL 2 | Not specified |
| ITL 3 | Not specified |
| Local authority | Not specified |
| Electoral ward | Not specified |
| Westminster constituency | Not specified |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Serco Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 75 - Administration, defence and social security services

### Codes

- 75231230 - Prison services

## Release History

- 24 Sep 2026 at 10:59 - AwardUpdate - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090472-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://www.find-court-tribunal.service.gov.uk/courts/royal-courts-of-justice
- https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/ministry-of-justice

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07794f. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07794f.json.
