---
title: "Provision of Rescue Pumps & Type B Appliances"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077969"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077969"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077969.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077969.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Avon Fire Authority"
published: "2026-09-24"
---

# Provision of Rescue Pumps & Type B Appliances

Buyer: Avon Fire Authority  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077969

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077969)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077969.json)

## Summary

Avon Fire Authority, through Avon Fire & Rescue Service, intends to replace four rescue pumps and six Type B firefighting appliances as part of its capital replacement programme. The requirement is for firefighting vehicles, with the appliances needed over the following two years. The procurement is expected to use Lot 1 of the National Fire Chiefs Council Emergency Response Vehicle Framework. A pre-market open day took place at the service’s Technical Centre in Avonmouth, where suppliers viewed a current rescue pump and discussed potential changes and improvements, supplier capacity, risks to parts and materials, and build times. Delivery is stated for the United Kingdom.

This is at the planning stage: the buyer has expressed its intention to procure, and there is no invitation to tender yet. Avon Fire & Rescue Service expects the tender to be published in November 2026. The planned contract period runs from March 2027 to March 2029, with a possible extension to March 2030. The estimated value is £4.4 million excluding VAT (£5.28 million including VAT). The requirement is arranged as one lot and is expected to use Lot 1 of the National Fire Chiefs Council Emergency Response Vehicle Framework. The procurement description identifies the vehicle quantities and framework route; it does not set out evaluation criteria or supplier eligibility requirements at this planning stage.

The work is likely to suit manufacturers and specialist suppliers able to provide rescue pumps and Type B emergency-response appliances, particularly businesses already participating in the relevant National Fire Chiefs Council framework. Suppliers should assess whether they can supply the stated mix and quantities of vehicles and deliver them within the planned replacement programme. The buyer’s pre-market discussions focused on design changes and improvements to existing rescue pumps, supplier capacity, potential parts and materials risks, and vehicle build times. These are useful preparation points for businesses considering the later tender: be ready to explain vehicle specifications and improvement options, demonstrate realistic production capacity and lead times, and show how supply-chain risks would be managed. The buyer has not stated specific technical accreditations or experience thresholds at this planning stage.

## Notice

Avon Fire & Rescue Service (AFRS) are looking to replace Four (4) x Rescue pumps and Six (6) x Type B appliances required over the next 2 years as part of our capital replacement program. AFRS will be utilising Lot1 Pumping appliances of the NFCC Emergency Response Vehicle Framework DS478-24.

### Planning Information

The purpose of this notice to advise of pre-market engagement that has been undertaken by Avon Fire & Rescue Service as well as to notify Suppliers of the upcoming opportunity to tender for provision of Four (4) x Rescue Pumps and six (6) Type B Appliances. 
Open Day
An Open day was held in September 2025 and consisted of a walk round one of the current Rescue Pumps with a discussion around what AFRS are looking to change and improve, as well as understanding current supplier capacity, current risks to parts and materials, build times to help form our approach
The Open Day was held at our Technical Centre, Nova Way Avonmouth, BS11 9DJ
The Tender opportunity is estimated to be published in November 2026.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090522-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 24 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 6 Nov 2026 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 24 Mar 2027 - 24 Mar 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £4,400,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Avon Fire Authority |
| Locality | PORTISHEAD |
| Postcode area | Bristol |
| Postcode | BS20 8JJ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLK South West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLK6 North Somerset, Somerset and Dorset |
| ITL 3 | TLK61 North Somerset |
| Local authority | North Somerset |
| Electoral ward | Portishead West |
| Westminster constituency | North Somerset |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 34 - Transport equipment and auxiliary products to transportation

### Codes

- 34144210 - Firefighting vehicles

## Release History

- 24 Sep 2026 at 12:17 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090522-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090522-2026
  24th September 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077969. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077969.json.
