---
title: "Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC)"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077a58"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077a58"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a58.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a58.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Ashfield District Council"
published: "2026-10-05"
---

# Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC)

Buyer: Ashfield District Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077a58

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077a58)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a58.json)

## Summary

Ashfield District Council intends to appoint an external commercial operator to run its Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC), with procurement support from Nottinghamshire County Council. The purpose-built centre is planned as a base for work with businesses on tailored automation strategies and solutions to improve productivity and support growth. Its planned activities span research and development, prototyping and proof of principle, showcasing and demonstration, and skills and training. The centre is intended to anchor a cluster of automation businesses alongside the developing Ashfield Innovation and Technology Park. This is a service contract combining operation of the centre with support for business development, automation and innovation. Delivery is in Ashfield, Nottinghamshire.

The process is at preliminary market engagement and no tender invitation has been issued. The council plans to use a Competitive Flexible Procedure under the Procurement Act 2023. The engagement is intended to help shape requirements, participation conditions, award criteria, contract scope, possible lotting and contract terms. Group sessions are planned on 10 and 12 November 2026, with further events possible later that month; individual discussions are also planned. The engagement period ends on 6 November 2026. The council aims to appoint an operator in 2027, and the centre is expected to be completed by December 2027. The planned contract period is 31 March 2027 to 31 March 2037, with a possible extension to 30 March 2042. Estimated value is £1 million excluding VAT (£1.2 million including VAT).

The work is likely to suit an organisation able to operate a specialist automation centre and combine commercial management with support for businesses adopting automation. Relevant strengths include developing bespoke automation strategies, managing research and development and prototyping activity, demonstrating technologies, and providing skills and training. The council’s stated aims are to increase adoption of automation among local and regional businesses while making the centre financially sustainable, so suppliers should be prepared to address both business impact and viable operations. The centre is intended to serve a wider cluster of automation firms, creating a setting for collaboration with businesses and the adjacent innovation park. The first market engagement is specifically intended to develop the scope, participation requirements and evaluation approach, so prospective operators can inform how the eventual competition is shaped.

## Notice

Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC) Procurement Early Engagement Notice Purpose This notice is to make potential contractors aware that, via the Nottinghamshire County Council (NCC) procurement team, Ashfield District Council (ADC) will commence a process to appoint a commercial operator for their Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC). The publication of this notice commences the preliminary market engagement stage of the procurement process. The procurement is expected to follow a Competitive Flexible Procedure, based on the Procurement Act 2023. Background The ADMC is a flagship project for Ashfield District Council. The ADMC will work with businesses to create and implement bespoke automation strategies and solutions that improve productivity and enable prosperity and growth. The ADMC will be a 3,000m2 purpose built, multifunctional, automation centre. Its vision is based on four "pillars" of activity: * Research and Development * Prototyping and Proof of Principle * Showcasing and Demonstration * Skills and Training The ADMC will be at the centre of a cluster of automation businesses, some of which will be located on the adjacent Ashfield Innovation and Technology Park that is also in development. The ADMC building is expected to be completed by December 2027. More details can be found on the ADMC website at www.theadmc.co.uk. Proposed Governance and Operation ADC confirmed its positioning regarding governance and operation of the ADMC in January 2025. It has resolved to carry out a public procurement procedure to appoint an external organisation to run the ADMC. ADC believe that this contracted approach will allow the ADMC to be operated effectively and efficiently such that it achieves its twin goals of supporting the greater adoption of automation within local and regional businesses and achieving financial sustainability. A previous procurement process to appoint an operator for the ADMC took place in late 2025. This process was ultimately unsuccessful in appointing an operator due to a combination of factors including feedback from potential bidders about the scope of the contract as well as subsidy and compliance issues. ADC aims to have a commercial operator appointed in 2027. Preliminary Market Engagement stage of the Procurement Process The procurement is expected to follow a Competitive Flexible Procedure, following the Procurement Act 2023. This notice commences the procurement process via a preliminary market engagement stage. The preliminary market engagement stage is intended to allow potential contractors to gain a more detailed understanding of the ADMC, its progress, and the procurement process being undertaken. It will also support NCC and ADC to develop the first stage tender by helping to: * Develop the requirements and approach to the procurement. * Design the conditions of participation and award criteria. * Inform the scope of works being contracted and whether these works should be split into separate lots. * Prepare the tender notice and associated tender documents. * Identify likely contractual terms. * Building capacity in relation to the contract being awarded. NCC/ADC proposes to run initial group engagement events via Teams on two dates: * Tuesday 10th November 10:00 - 11:00 * Thursday 12th November 10:00 - 11:00 Further events may be run before the end of November 2026 as demand requires. NCC/ADC will be having individual discussions with potential contractors. Contractors will be invited to express an interest in being part of those discussions following the group engagement events. All information and material collected from these pre-market engagement activities will be documented and form part of the subsequent tender pack, respecting commercial confidentiality. Contact To express interest in being part of the Preliminary Market Engagement stage of this procurement process and to be sent the ADMC - Intent to Go to Market - Power Point Information Pack, please contact Jamie Burton - jamie.burton2@nottscc.gov.uk Please feel free to submit any clarification questions to Jamie Burton - jamie.burton2@nottscc.gov.uk NCC/ADC will respond to these promptly.

### Planning Information

Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC)
Procurement Early Engagement Notice
Purpose
This notice is to make potential contractors aware that, via the Nottinghamshire County Council (NCC) procurement team, Ashfield District Council (ADC) will commence a process to appoint a commercial operator for their Automated Distribution and Manufacturing Centre (ADMC).
The publication of this notice commences the preliminary market engagement stage of the procurement process. The procurement is expected to follow a Competitive Flexible Procedure, based on the Procurement Act 2023.
Background
The ADMC is a flagship project for Ashfield District Council. The ADMC will work with businesses to create and implement bespoke automation strategies and solutions that improve productivity and enable prosperity and growth.
The ADMC will be a 3,000m2 purpose built, multifunctional, automation centre. Its vision is based on four "pillars" of activity:
• Research and Development
• Prototyping and Proof of Principle
• Showcasing and Demonstration
• Skills and Training
The ADMC will be at the centre of a cluster of automation businesses, some of which will be located on the adjacent Ashfield Innovation and Technology Park that is also in development.
The ADMC building is expected to be completed by December 2027. More details can be found on the ADMC website at www.theadmc.co.uk.
Proposed Governance and Operation
ADC confirmed its positioning regarding governance and operation of the ADMC in January 2025. It has resolved to carry out a public procurement procedure to appoint an external organisation to run the ADMC.
ADC believe that this contracted approach will allow the ADMC to be operated effectively and efficiently such that it achieves its twin goals of supporting the greater adoption of automation within local and regional businesses and achieving financial sustainability.
A previous procurement process to appoint an operator for the ADMC took place in late 2025. This process was ultimately unsuccessful in appointing an operator due to a combination of factors including feedback from potential bidders about the scope of the contract as well as subsidy and compliance issues.
ADC aims to have a commercial operator appointed in 2027.
Preliminary Market Engagement stage of the Procurement Process
The procurement is expected to follow a Competitive Flexible Procedure, following the Procurement Act 2023. This notice commences the procurement process via a preliminary market engagement stage.
The preliminary market engagement stage is intended to allow potential contractors to gain a more detailed understanding of the ADMC, its progress, and the procurement process being undertaken. It will also support NCC and ADC to develop the first stage tender by helping to:
• Develop the requirements and approach to the procurement.
• Design the conditions of participation and award criteria.
• Inform the scope of works being contracted and whether these works should be split into separate lots.
• Prepare the tender notice and associated tender documents.
• Identify likely contractual terms.
• Building capacity in relation to the contract being awarded.
NCC/ADC proposes to run initial group engagement events via Teams on two dates:
• Tuesday 10th November 10:00 - 11:00
• Thursday 12th November 10:00 - 11:00
Further events may be run before the end of November 2026 as demand requires.
NCC/ADC will be having individual discussions with potential contractors. Contractors will be invited to express an interest in being part of those discussions following the group engagement events.
All information and material collected from these pre-market engagement activities will be documented and form part of the subsequent tender pack, respecting commercial confidentiality.
Contact
To express interest in being part of the Preliminary Market Engagement stage of this
procurement process and to be sent the ADMC - Intent to Go to Market - Power Point
Information Pack, please contact Jamie Burton - jamie.burton2@nottscc.gov.uk
Please feel free to submit any clarification questions to Jamie Burton -
jamie.burton2@nottscc.gov.uk NCC/ADC will respond to these promptly.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093898-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 31 Mar 2027 - 31 Mar 2037 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £1,000,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Ashfield District Council |
| Locality | KIRKBY IN ASHFIELD |
| Postcode area | Nottingham |
| Postcode | NG17 8DA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLF East Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLF1 Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire |
| ITL 3 | TLF15 North Nottinghamshire |
| Local authority | Ashfield |
| Electoral ward | Greenwood & Summit |
| Westminster constituency | Ashfield |
| Delivery location | TLF15 North Nottinghamshire |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 70 - Real estate services
- 73 - Research and development services and related consultancy services
- 79 - Business services: law, marketing, consulting, recruitment, printing and security

### Codes

- 70332200 - Commercial property management services
- 73000000 - Research and development services and related consultancy services
- 79411100 - Business development consultancy services

## Release History

- 5 Oct 2026 at 14:48 - PlanningUpdate - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093898-2026
- 25 Sep 2026 at 11:38 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090919-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093898-2026
  5th October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090919-2026
  25th September 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077a58. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a58.json.
