---
title: "Woodwork Capital Equipment - HMP Swaleside- Briquetter"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077a81"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077a81"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a81.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a81.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Ministry of Justice"
published: "2026-09-25"
---

# Woodwork Capital Equipment - HMP Swaleside- Briquetter

Buyer: Ministry of Justice  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077a81

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077a81)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a81.json)

## Summary

The Ministry of Justice bought a briquetter as woodwork capital equipment for HMP Swaleside. This is machinery used in woodworking, procured as goods for the prison. The requirement is specifically for a briquetter rather than a wider programme of woodwork equipment, and is linked to capital expenditure. The delivery location is HMP Swaleside; the procurement gives no more specific site address. The buyer is the Ministry of Justice, a central government department. The named equipment classification is woodworking equipment (CPV 43810000).

The procurement is complete and the contract is active. It was run as a below-threshold limited competition. The Ministry of Justice awarded the contract to G & J Wood Machinery Ltd. The contract was signed on 24 September 2026 and runs from 24 September 2026 to 31 March 2028. Its value is £55,000 excluding VAT and £65,000 including VAT. The procurement was divided into one lot, covering the briquetter. The published information identifies no award criteria or eligibility requirements, so the basis used to select the supplier cannot be described further.

This award shows demand from the Ministry of Justice for capital woodworking machinery at HMP Swaleside, with a briquetter as the specific requirement. A credible competitor for a similar requirement would need to supply suitable woodworking equipment and demonstrate that it can meet the prison’s operational needs. The successful supplier, G & J Wood Machinery Ltd, is an SME, showing that a specialist small business has delivered this type of purchase. The procurement used a limited competition below the relevant threshold, so suppliers should be equipped to engage with a restricted competitive process rather than assume an open tender. The requirement is focused on equipment supply; the published scope does not indicate a wider service or works package.

## Notice

Woodwork Capital Equipment - HMP Swaleside- Briquetter CAPEX

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090977-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 24 Sep 2026 - 31 Mar 2028 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £55,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Ministry of Justice |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | South West London |
| Postcode | SW1H 9AJ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI3 Inner London - West |
| ITL 3 | TLI35 Westminster and City of London |
| Local authority | Westminster |
| Electoral ward | St James's |
| Westminster constituency | Cities of London and Westminster |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | G & J Wood Machinery Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 43 - Machinery for mining, quarrying, construction equipment

### Codes

- 43810000 - Woodworking equipment

## Release History

- 25 Sep 2026 at 12:58 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090977-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090977-2026
  25th September 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/ministry-of-justice/about/procurement
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077a81. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077a81.json.
