---
title: "Audiology Services - North Staffordshire"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Integrated Care Board"
published: "2026-09-28"
---

# Audiology Services - North Staffordshire

Buyer: NHS Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Integrated Care Board  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe.json)

## Summary

NHS Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Integrated Care Board buys adult audiology services for people in Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent. The service covers hearing assessments, rehabilitation and ongoing support for adults with hearing or communication difficulties, including hearing aids where clinically appropriate and associated aftercare. This is a healthcare service rather than a supply-only contract: delivery includes clinical assessment and continuing patient support. The procurement is titled Audiology Services – North Staffordshire and concerns the existing adult hearing service for the local population. Audiology and ear, nose and throat services (CPV 85121240) are the relevant work category. The service is intended to continue an established provision, with the buyer indicating that the requirements are not changing considerably from the current arrangements.

The process used the Provider Selection Regime’s Direct Award Process C, without a prior call for competition. Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited was selected, and the contract is recorded as active and signed on 19 August 2026. The contract period runs from 1 October 2026 to 30 September 2027. It is described as a zero-value contract, with payments based on activity and locally agreed prices; the estimated value for the one-year period is £2,224,787. The selection assessment gave equal importance to the key criteria: whether the existing provider was meeting the original contract and was likely to meet the proposed contract to a sufficient standard. A basic selection assessment covered suitability, financial and economic standing, and technical and professional ability. The process was governed by the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023.

For suppliers considering similar adult audiology work, this award indicates that the buyer values continuity of an established service where requirements have not changed considerably. A credible competitor would need to demonstrate reliable hearing assessment, rehabilitation and ongoing support for adults with hearing and communication difficulties, including clinically appropriate hearing aids and aftercare. Evidence of satisfactory delivery against an existing service contract would be directly relevant, alongside the ability to maintain service standards throughout the contract. The buyer also assessed supplier suitability, financial and economic standing, and technical and professional ability, so a future provider would need to show strength across all three areas. This is a population-wide healthcare service with activity-based payments and locally agreed prices, favouring providers able to manage ongoing clinical delivery rather than one-off product supply.

## Notice

Adult Hearing Services (Audiology) provide assessment, rehabilitation, and ongoing support for adults experiencing hearing and communication difficulties. The service includes hearing assessments, access to hearing aids where clinically appropriate, and associated aftercare and support. This Intention to Award Notice is issued in accordance with Regulation 9 (Direct Award Process C) of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. The procurement relates to the provision of Adult Audiology Services for the Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent population.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

This Intention to Award Notice is issued in accordance with Regulation 9 (Direct Award Process C) of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. The procurement relates to the provision of Adult Audiology Services for the Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent population. NHS Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Integrated Care Board (SSoT ICB) currently holds a contract with Specsavers Hearcare Limited for the provision of Adult Audiology Services. This service provides assessment, rehabilitation, and ongoing support for adults experiencing hearing and communication difficulties. The service includes hearing assessments, the provision of hearing aids where clinically appropriate, and associated aftercare and support. The SSoT ICB is satisfied that the existing provider will likely satisfy the requirements of the proposed contract and that the requirements for the provision of healthcare services are not changing considerably. As such, the proposed arrangements do not meet the considerable change threshold set out in Regulation 6(10) of the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. The intention is to award a contract to Specsavers Hearcare Limited, the existing provider. The contract period will be one year, commencing on 1 October 2026 and expiring on 30 September 2027. This is a zero-value contract with payments based on activity and locally agreed prices. The estimated contract value for the one-year contract period is PS2,224,787.00.

### Procurement Information

This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Procurement Act 2023 do not apply to this award. The standstill period begins on the day after the publication of this notice. Representations by providers must be made to the relevant authority by 09/10/2026. This contract has not yet formally been awarded; this notice serves as an intention to award under the PSR.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/091532-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £2,224,787 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent Integrated Care Board |
| Locality | STOKE-ON-TRENT |
| Postcode area | Stoke-on-Trent |
| Postcode | ST1 4FA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLG West Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLG2 Shropshire and Staffordshire |
| ITL 3 | TLG23 Stoke-on-Trent |
| Local authority | Stoke-on-Trent |
| Electoral ward | Etruria & Hanley |
| Westminster constituency | Stoke-on-Trent Central |
| Delivery location | TLG23 Stoke-on-Trent, TLG24 Staffordshire CC |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Specsavers Optical Superstores Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85121240 - ENT or audiologist services

## Release History

- 28 Sep 2026 at 15:31 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/091532-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://staffsstoke.icb.nhs.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077bbe.json.
