---
title: "PURCH2985 - PPE1005025 Direct Award for the Provision of BD FACSDiscover S8 with Hood"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "University of Glasgow"
published: "2026-09-29"
---

# PURCH2985 - PPE1005025 Direct Award for the Provision of BD FACSDiscover S8 with Hood

Buyer: University of Glasgow  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a.json)

## Summary

The University of Glasgow procured a BD FACSDiscover S8 flow cytometry analyser with a hood. This is laboratory detection and analysis equipment for examining and characterising samples. The purchase was a single equipment package, identified as PURCH2985 – PPE1005025. Delivery is associated with Glasgow. The equipment was bought directly from BD Becton Dickinson UK Limited, the supplier selected for the contract. The requirement was handled as a technical-reasons direct award rather than a publicly advertised competition, so this procurement reflects a specific instrument purchase rather than a broad supply of laboratory equipment.

The procurement is complete and the contract has been awarded to BD Becton Dickinson UK Limited; the contract is active and was signed on 25 September 2026. The contract value is £685,360. The stated arrangement was for an initial one-year period, with provision described for an extension of twelve months, within a maximum period of two years. The buyer used a restricted procedure without prior publication of a competition, citing technical reasons under the procurement regulations. One bid was recorded. The stated evaluation split was 50% quality and 50% price. The associated lot is marked cancelled, while the award and contract are active; the process outcome is therefore reported as an award and signed contract, with the lot-status discrepancy noted in the underlying data.

For suppliers considering comparable future requirements from the University of Glasgow, this award indicates demand for a high-value, specialist flow cytometry system supplied as a complete instrument package with a hood. Credibility would depend on being able to provide the specified analyser and associated equipment, together with the technical expertise and support needed for a university laboratory environment. The buyer relied on technical-reasons justification for a direct award, and the awarded supplier was the manufacturer’s UK business; competitors would therefore need to demonstrate a technically equivalent solution and a clear basis for competing against the specified system. The recorded evaluation balanced quality and price equally, suggesting that both technical fit and commercial terms mattered to the stated assessment.

## Notice

PURCH2985 - PPE1005025 Direct Award for the Provision of BD FACSDiscover S8 with Hood

### Lot Information

Lot 1

PURCH2985 - PPE1005025 Direct Award for the Provision of BD FACSDiscover S8 with Hood For a Maximum Period of Two (2) Years with an Initial Period of One (1) Year with the Option to Extend for Twelve (12) Months Internal Procurement Policy Exception (PPE) Form completed. Justification: Regulations 2015-33 (1) (b) (ii)Technical Reasons

### Procurement Information

Justification: Regulations 2015-33 (1) (b) (ii)Technical Reasons

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/091758-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £685,360 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | University of Glasgow |
| Locality | GLASGOW |
| Postcode area | Glasgow |
| Postcode | G12 8QQ |
| Country | Scotland |
| ITL 1 | TLM Scotland |
| ITL 2 | TLM3 West Central Scotland |
| ITL 3 | TLM32 Glasgow City |
| Local authority | Glasgow City |
| Electoral ward | Hillhead |
| Westminster constituency | Glasgow North |
| Delivery location | TLM82 Glasgow City |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | BD Becton Dickinson UK Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 38 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)

### Codes

- 38430000 - Detection and analysis apparatus

## Release History

- 29 Sep 2026 at 11:28 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/091758-2026

## Notice URLs

- http://www.gla.ac.uk/
- https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-0000844175
- https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/Search_AuthProfile.aspx?ID=AA00108

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077c3a.json.
