---
title: "MSC Artificial Intelligence"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Department for Work and Pensions"
published: "2026-09-30"
---

# MSC Artificial Intelligence

Buyer: Department for Work and Pensions  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa.json)

## Summary

The Department for Work & Pensions bought a fully online postgraduate artificial intelligence course for staff. It covers machine learning, deep learning and natural language processing, with practical skills to design, build and evaluate AI-enabled systems. The training also addresses ethical, secure and responsible use of AI in line with Digital, Data and Technology standards. Study is part-time, with in-person attendance only where there is a reason, such as graduation, library use or a meeting. The service is staff training, delivered across England, including London, the North East, North West, Yorkshire and the Humber, East Midlands, West Midlands, East of England, South East and South West.

The procurement is complete and the contract was awarded to the University of Liverpool. The Department used a direct award below the applicable threshold, without competition. The contract was signed on 30 September 2026 and runs from 1 October 2026 to 30 January 2027. Its value is £109,117.76 excluding VAT (£130,941.31 including VAT). The procurement was a single lot. The published objectives set the evaluation basis: postgraduate learning in machine learning, deep learning and natural language processing; practical ability to design, build and assess AI-enabled systems; and ethical, secure and responsible AI aligned with DDaT standards. The course is part-time and fully online, with possible in-person attendance for specific purposes.

For future requirements from the Department for Work & Pensions, credible providers will need to deliver postgraduate-level AI training online and part-time, covering machine learning, deep learning and natural language processing. The winning requirement also points to practical teaching that equips learners to design, build and evaluate AI-enabled systems, rather than focusing only on theory. Providers should be able to address ethical, secure and responsible AI in a way aligned with government Digital, Data and Technology standards. Delivery must support learners across a wide spread of English regions, while allowing for occasional in-person activity where needed. This award shows demand for a substantial staff-training service from a large higher-education supplier, procured directly below threshold without competition.

## Notice

MSC Artificial Intelligence. Objectives: * Postgraduate level learning in machine learning, deep learning and natural language processing. * Skills to design, build and evaluate AI enabled systems in practice. * Application of ethical, secure and responsible AI aligned to DDaT standards. Method of Delivery: Fully Online Part time study over 24 months. Relatively close proximity to the educational if there are reasons to attend in person (e.g. graduation, library use, opting for an in person meeting) Processed by SSCL

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092098-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Oct 2026 - 30 Jan 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £109,117 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Department for Work and Pensions |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | South West London |
| Postcode | SW1H 9NA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI3 Inner London - West |
| ITL 3 | TLI35 Westminster and City of London |
| Local authority | Westminster |
| Electoral ward | St James's |
| Westminster constituency | Cities of London and Westminster |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | UNIVERSITY OF LIVERPOOL |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 80 - Education and training services

### Codes

- 80511000 - Staff training services

## Release History

- 30 Sep 2026 at 07:14 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092098-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092098-2026
  30th September 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.liverpool.ac.uk
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077cfa.json.
