---
title: "2526-026-STA-WBS Provision of Altuvoct (Efanesoctocog alfa) recombinant FVII"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077d18"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077d18"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077d18.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077d18.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Velindre University NHS Trust"
published: "2026-09-30"
---

# 2526-026-STA-WBS Provision of Altuvoct (Efanesoctocog alfa) recombinant FVII

Buyer: Velindre University NHS Trust  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077d18

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077d18)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077d18.json)

## Summary

Velindre University NHS Trust is procuring Altuvoct (efanesoctocog alfa), a recombinant factor VIII medicine for treating bleeding disorders. The requirement is for pharmaceutical products, with delivery in Cardiff and Vale of Glamorgan. The Trust’s stated purpose is to give Welsh patients access to this NICE-approved medicine while a contract is being negotiated between the supplier and NHS England. The medicine is not available through the Bleeding Disorders Framework managed by NHS England, prompting a separate purchase by the Welsh health service.

The procurement is complete and Swedish Orphan Biovitrum (SOBI) was selected through a direct award. The Trust’s stated rationale is that SOBI is the sole supplier of the required medicine and that purchase is critical for patient treatment. The award is recorded as pending. The contract period runs from 1 October 2026 to 17 August 2028, with a planned signature date of 1 October 2026. The award value is £270,000 excluding VAT (£324,000 including VAT). The procurement covers one lot. Evaluation was based on the stated sole-supplier technical reason; no further scoring criteria are recorded.

This award shows demand from Velindre University NHS Trust for a specific NICE-approved treatment for bleeding disorders, where patient access is the stated priority. A supplier competing for the same requirement in future would need to be able to supply Altuvoct (efanesoctocog alfa) and demonstrate that it can meet the Trust’s medicine-supply needs. The direct award was justified on the basis that the selected supplier was the sole source of the required product, so the opportunity favours a supplier with access to that medicine rather than a general pharmaceutical distributor. The purchase also reflects a need to provide Welsh patients with access outside the NHS England framework route.

## Notice

This note formally records that the Transparency Notice was not published at the required stage of the process, due to a procedural oversight. Once identified, the issue was promptly escalated and corrective action was taken to ensure a notice is completed and published in line with the relevant regulatory and governance requirements. Internal processes and controls have since been reviewed to reduce the risk of this happening again. This medicine is a NICE approved product which is not currently available for procurement under the Bleeding Disorders Framework, managed by NHS England. In order for Welsh patients to obtain access to this medicine while a contract is being negotiated between the supplier and NHS England, this contract is being direct awarded to SOBI.

### Procurement Information

Sole supplier of the medicines required and purchase is critical for patient treatment.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092163-2026 |
| Notice type | UK5 - Transparency Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Direct award |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Oct 2026 - 17 Aug 2028 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £270,000 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Pending |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Velindre University NHS Trust |
| Locality | CARDIFF |
| Postcode area | Cardiff |
| Postcode | CF15 7QZ |
| Country | Wales |
| ITL 1 | TLL Wales |
| ITL 2 | TLL5 South East Wales |
| ITL 3 | TLL51 Central Valleys and Bridgend |
| Local authority | Rhondda Cynon Taf |
| Electoral ward | Taff's Well |
| Westminster constituency | Cardiff North |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Swedish Orphan Biovitrum (SOBI) |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 33 - Medical equipments, pharmaceuticals and personal care products

### Codes

- 33600000 - Pharmaceutical products

## Release History

- 30 Sep 2026 at 09:45 - Award - UK5 - Transparency Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092163-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092163-2026
  30th September 2026 - Transparency notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://nwssp.nhs.wales/ourservices/procurement-services/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077d18. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077d18.json.
