---
title: "OUTSOURCING OF HISTOLOGY SAMPLES FOR PROCESSING AND OR REPORTING"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-077df9"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077df9"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077df9.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077df9.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Swansea Bay University Health Board"
published: "2026-09-30"
---

# OUTSOURCING OF HISTOLOGY SAMPLES FOR PROCESSING AND OR REPORTING

Buyer: Swansea Bay University Health Board  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-077df9

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077df9)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077df9.json)

## Summary

Swansea Bay University Health Board commissioned the outsourcing of histology sample processing and/or reporting for its patients. The requirement covers pathology services, specifically the processing of histology samples, reporting on them, or both. The work supports the Health Board’s patient services and was to be delivered for patients across its service area in Swansea Bay, Wales. The buyer is Swansea Bay University Health Board, based in Neath Port Talbot. This requirement was placed as a single package and awarded to one provider. The procurement rationale describes the requirement as a continuation of similar histology outsourcing services previously supplied to the Health Board.

The process has reached the award stage: Cyted UK Ltd was selected, and the contract is recorded as active. The recorded contract was signed on 30 September 2026. Its value is £700,000, with the stated contract term running from 12 October 2026 to 31 March 2027, or the earliest agreed date after award. The Health Board used a direct award from an existing framework without a competition, relying on the provider’s satisfactory performance on similar contracts. Price was the stated award criterion. The source also labels the sole lot cancelled, while recording an active award and contract; the data therefore presents conflicting status information. The intention-to-award text says the award remained subject to a standstill ending at midnight on 9 October 2026.

For suppliers seeking comparable work when this requirement next comes to market, the demonstrated benchmark is the ability to process histology samples and provide reporting, or to deliver both services, for a health board’s patients. The selected provider was considered likely to meet the required standard because it had delivered similar contracts for Swansea Bay University Health Board. That makes a relevant track record with this buyer, or evidence of equivalent histology outsourcing experience, central to credibility. The recorded contract is a single-provider service requirement of material scale, rather than a multi-lot opportunity. The award was made without competition through an existing framework, so suppliers seeking to compete for a future requirement should be positioned to participate through an appropriate framework route and show that their service meets the Health Board’s requirements. Price was the stated evaluation basis.

## Notice

Outsourcing Of Histology Samples For Processing And Or Reporting

### Lot Information

Lot 1

Outsourcing of Histology Samples for Processing and or Reporting for Swansea Bay University Health Board patients. This notice is an intention to award a contract based on a framework agreement without a competition; Maximum contract value GBP 700,000.00 during proposed contract term 12th October 2026 to 31st March 2027 or soonest agreed date after contract award. Additional information: This notice is an intention to award on a Framework Agreement without a competition.

### Procurement Information

The existing provider has satisfied similar contracts providing outsourcing of histology samples processing and or reporting for Swansea Bay University Health Board.(according to the detail outlined in those contracts, and when taken into account the key

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092541-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £700,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Swansea Bay University Health Board |
| Locality | NEATH PORT TALBOT |
| Postcode area | Swansea |
| Postcode | SA12 7BR |
| Country | Wales |
| ITL 1 | TLL Wales |
| ITL 2 | TLL4 Mid and South West Wales |
| ITL 3 | TLL44 Neath Port Talbot |
| Local authority | Neath Port Talbot |
| Electoral ward | Baglan |
| Westminster constituency | Aberafan Maesteg |
| Delivery location | TLL18 Swansea |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Cyted UK Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85111800 - Pathology services

## Release History

- 30 Sep 2026 at 16:10 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092541-2026

## Notice URLs

- http://nwssp.nhs.wales/ourservices/procurement-services/
- https://www.sell2wales.gov.wales/search/Search_AuthProfile.aspx?ID=AA0221

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-077df9. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-077df9.json.
