---
title: "Independent Integrated Advocacy Service"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07811b"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07811b"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07811b.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07811b.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Newcastle City Council"
published: "2026-10-05"
---

# Independent Integrated Advocacy Service

Buyer: Newcastle City Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07811b

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07811b)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07811b.json)

## Summary

Newcastle City Council plans to procure an integrated advocacy service for Newcastle. It will provide statutory advocacy for eligible people under the Care Act 2014, Mental Capacity Act 2005, Mental Health Act 1983 and Health and Social Care Act 2012, alongside NHS complaints advocacy. The service falls within social work and related services. Delivery is in the Newcastle area. The council is seeking an integrated service covering several statutory advocacy duties as well as support for people making complaints about NHS services.

This is at the planning stage: the council has announced its intention to procure, but has not issued an invitation to tender. The intended contract is for two years, with a planned start on 1 April 2027 and end on 1 April 2029. The stated value is £416,615 over the two-year duration. The procurement is planned as a single lot, and the council indicates that small and medium-sized businesses and voluntary, community and social enterprises are suitable suppliers. A provider engagement event is planned for 21 October 2026 at Newcastle Civic Centre, to discuss the service delivered over the previous two and a half years, questions and the forthcoming tendering process. The council says the two-year term will allow it to evaluate the effect of the AGNI judgment on demand for Relevant Person’s Representative and other Mental Capacity Act advocacy, and changes to the Mental Health Bill.

This planned service is relevant to providers with experience delivering advocacy to eligible people across adult social care, mental capacity, mental health and NHS complaints. Suppliers will need to be equipped to work across the statutory frameworks named by the council and to provide an integrated service rather than a single advocacy strand. The council’s stated focus on the possible effect of the AGNI judgment and changes to the Mental Health Bill also makes relevant experience in Relevant Person’s Representative and other Mental Capacity Act advocacy particularly pertinent. The council considers the work suitable for SMEs and voluntary, community and social enterprises, indicating that smaller and mission-led providers may be well placed to prepare. The engagement event offers providers a chance to hear about recent service provision and discuss the forthcoming procurement.

## Notice

Procurement of an Integrated Advocacy Service including Statutory Advocacy for eligible individuals under the Care Act 2014, Mental Capacity Act 2005, Mental Health Act 1983 and Health and Social Care Act 2012 alongside NHS Complaints Advocacy. The contract duration is two years to give time to evaluate how the AGNI judgment may affect future demand for Relevant Person's Representative and other Mental Capacity Act advocacy functions and changes to the Mental Health Bill. Value: PS416,615.

### Planning Information

The provider engagement will take place on Wednesday 21st October in the Collingwood Room, Civic Centre, Barras Road, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 8QH, from 3.15 pm, 5 minutes walk from the Haymarket Metro Station, Newcastle Upon Tyne.
The event will offer an opportunity to hear about the provision of advocacy services over the last two and half years, ask questions and find out more about the tendering process itself.
Please submit expressions of interest on the Open system for the North East where this opportunity will be posted.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093996-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Apr 2027 - 1 Apr 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £833,230 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Newcastle City Council |
| Locality | NEWCASTLE UPON TYNE |
| Postcode area | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Postcode | NE1 8QH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC43 Tyneside |
| Local authority | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Electoral ward | Monument |
| Westminster constituency | Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West |
| Delivery location | TLC2 Northumberland, and Tyne and Wear |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services
- 98 - Other community, social and personal services

### Codes

- 85300000 - Social work and related services
- 98000000 - Other community, social and personal services

## Release History

- 5 Oct 2026 at 16:50 - PlanningUpdate - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093996-2026
- 5 Oct 2026 at 16:39 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093988-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093996-2026
  5th October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/093988-2026
  5th October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.newcastle.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07811b. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07811b.json.
