---
title: "Community Ophthalmology Eye Casualty Service"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NHS Thames Valley Integrated Care Board"
published: "2026-10-06"
---

# Community Ophthalmology Eye Casualty Service

Buyer: NHS Thames Valley Integrated Care Board  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce.json)

## Summary

NHS Thames Valley Integrated Care Board is commissioning a community ophthalmology eye casualty service for East Berkshire. It includes an Eye Care Casualty Clinic at King Edward VII Hospital, providing post-triage assessment and treatment for ophthalmic conditions that do not require secondary care but fall outside the core primary care contract. The service is therefore aimed at patients needing eye care beyond routine primary care, while avoiding the need for secondary-care treatment where that is not required. The procurement was carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit on the commissioners’ behalf. The delivery area is East Berkshire, with the clinic based at King Edward VII Hospital.

The procurement has reached intention-to-award stage under the Provider Selection Regime’s Direct Award C route; the contract is not yet formally awarded. NHS Thames Valley ICB selected Evolutio Care Innovations Limited. The notice records a standstill period, with representations due by midnight on 19 October 2026. The contract is due to start on 1 January 2027 for an initial 12 months, with an optional 12-month extension. The expected value is £380,000 for the initial term and £380,000 for the extension, £760,000 across the stated lifetime. The commissioner assessed the existing provider against quality and innovation, value, integration and sustainability, access and health inequalities, choice, and social value. The recorded evaluation weighting was 80% quality and 20% price.

This requirement suits providers able to run a community ophthalmology clinic and assess and treat eye conditions after triage, handling cases that need more than core primary care but do not require secondary care. Credibility depends on demonstrating that the service can meet the commissioner’s regional requirements and deliver the specified service safely and consistently. The selected provider was judged against its performance under the existing contract, including delivery against the service specification, safeguarding, correct local pricing and invoicing, quality and Schedule 6A reporting, and compliance with NHS contract conditions covering service standards, cooperation, information, payment, liability, subcontracting and information governance. Providers competing for a similar requirement would need evidence of dependable service delivery, quality reporting and contract administration, alongside a strong quality case and competitive pricing. The award indicates a community-based service at a substantial operational scale.

## Notice

NHS Thames Valley ICB ("the Commissioner") is commissioning a Community Ophthalmology Eye Casualty Service. A Community Ophthalmology service covering the East Berkshire geography and specifically an Eye Care Casualty Clinic based within the King Edward VII Hospital treating ophthalmic conditions post-triage, which do not require treatment in secondary care, but beyond the core Primary Care Contract. Thames Valley ICB has followed PSR Direct Award C for the contract to which this notice relates.

### Lot Information

Lot 1

NHS Thames Valley ICB ("the Commissioner") is commissioning a Community Ophthalmology Eye Casualty Service. A Community Ophthalmology service covering the East Berkshire geography and specifically an Eye Care Casualty Clinic based within the King Edward VII Hospital treating ophthalmic conditions post-triage, which do not require treatment in secondary care, but beyond the core Primary Care Contract. Thames Valley ICB has followed PSR Direct Award C for the contract to which this notice relates. The total expected value of the contract for the initial 12-month contract term is PS380,000 The optional 12-month extension expected value of the contract is PS380,000. Therefore, the full expected lifetime contract value is PS760,000 The contract period will commence on 01 January 2027. This procurement has been carried out by NHS South, Central and West Commissioning Support Unit (SCW) on behalf of the Commissioners. Additional information: Evidence that Evolutio Care Innovations Limited have satisfied the existing contract to a sufficient standard according to the detail outlined in the contract: they provided all of the required documentation, information and policies for the existing contract. They have followed the contractual service specification, not deviated from Thames Valley ICB Safeguarding requirements, charged the correct local prices as per the contract, issued invoices correctly in accordance with the Thames Valley ICB process, complied with Quality reporting requirements, and followed Schedule 6A reporting requirements. They have complied with/not fallen foul of the applicable NHS Standard Contract (Shorter Form) Service Conditions, including Service Conditions in relation to the following: service standards, co-operation, information requirements, safeguarding, payment terms and quality requirements. They have also complied with/not fallen foul of the applicable shorter Form General Conditions, including those relating to liability & indemnity, assignment & sub-contracting, and Information Governance. The proposed contracting arrangements are substantially consistent with the existing arrangements, which the provider has delivered to a satisfactory standard. Accordingly, the Commissioner is satisfied that the provider is likely to continue delivering the services to the required standard under the proposed contract.

Options: Option to extend for a further 12-months

### Procurement Information

This is a Provider Selection Regime (PSR) intention to award notice under Direct Award C. The awarding of this contract is subject to the Health Care Services (Provider Selection Regime) Regulations 2023. For the avoidance of doubt, the provisions of the Public Contracts Regulations 2015 and The Procurement Act 2023 do not apply to this award. The publication of this notice marks the start of the standstill period. Representations by providers must be made to the relevant authority by midnight 19 October 2026. This contract has not yet formally been awarded; this notice serves as an intention to award under the PSR.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094319-2026 |
| Notice type | Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 6 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | Not specified |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £760,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Cancelled |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NHS Thames Valley Integrated Care Board |
| Locality | OXFORD |
| Postcode area | Oxford |
| Postcode | OX4 2PG |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLJ South East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLJ1 Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire |
| ITL 3 | TLJ14 Oxfordshire CC |
| Local authority | Oxford |
| Electoral ward | Blackbird Leys |
| Westminster constituency | Oxford East |
| Delivery location | TLJ1 Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Evolutio Care Innovations Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 85 - Health and social work services

### Codes

- 85121281 - Ophthalmologist services

## Release History

- 6 Oct 2026 at 14:35 - Award - Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094319-2026

## Notice URLs

- https://www.thamesvalley.icb.nhs.uk

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781ce.json.
