---
title: "M53 Clatterbridge N&S - Deck Replacement - BT Openreach"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "National Highways"
published: "2026-10-06"
---

# M53 Clatterbridge N&S - Deck Replacement - BT Openreach

Buyer: National Highways  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1.json)

## Summary

National Highways Limited commissioned utility service diversion and connection work for the M53 Clatterbridge north and south deck replacement. The diversion enables replacement of the bridge’s central deck, extending the structure’s lifespan instead of replacing the whole bridge. The work is bridge-related construction and utility services, delivered at Clatterbridge on the M53.

The procurement is complete and BT Openreach (CIS) Divert / Connect 57903 was selected for the single lot. National Highways used a direct award without competition under a below-threshold procedure. The contract was signed on 23 January 2026 and runs from 23 January 2026 to 29 January 2027. Its value is £156,141.28 excluding VAT (£187,369.54 including VAT).

For suppliers who did not win, this contract shows National Highways buys utility diversion and connection work to enable bridge deck replacement and extend the life of existing structures. A credible competitor when this requirement next comes to market would need to deliver the relevant service diversions and connections in coordination with bridge works. The awarded supplier’s role indicates that specialist utility-diversion capability is relevant; the procurement does not identify particular accreditations, capacity levels or experience requirements.

## Notice

Service diversion allows the replacement of the central deck. Thereby increasing the lifespan of the structure (instead of full bridge replacement).

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094322-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 6 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 23 Jan 2026 - 29 Jan 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £156,141 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | National Highways |
| Locality | BIRMINGHAM |
| Postcode area | Birmingham |
| Postcode | B4 6GA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLG West Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLG3 West Midlands |
| ITL 3 | TLG31 Birmingham |
| Local authority | Birmingham |
| Electoral ward | Ladywood |
| Westminster constituency | Birmingham Ladywood |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | BT Openreach (CIS) Divert / Connect 57903 |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45221110 - Bridge construction work

## Release History

- 6 Oct 2026 at 14:37 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094322-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094322-2026
  6th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://nationalhighways.co.uk
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0781d1.json.
