---
title: "PME for Emergency Rolling Stock Recovery, Re-railing and Wheel-Skating Services"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078254"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078254"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078254.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078254.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Direct Rail Services Limited"
published: "2026-10-07"
---

# PME for Emergency Rolling Stock Recovery, Re-railing and Wheel-Skating Services

Buyer: Direct Rail Services Limited  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078254

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078254)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078254.json)

## Summary

Direct Rail Services Limited intends to procure emergency railway rolling-stock recovery, re-railing and wheel-skating services. The work is to support the recovery and movement of rail vehicles following incidents, including putting derailed rolling stock back onto the track and moving it using wheel-skates. The procurement is categorised as railway transport support services. The information request concerns one lot and is aimed at understanding the market for these specialist services. The buyer is Direct Rail Services Limited, a rail operator based in Carlisle. The data does not identify specific delivery locations, so the work should be understood as supporting the buyer’s railway operations rather than being tied to a named site.

This is at the planning stage: Direct Rail Services Limited has set out an intention to procure and is conducting preliminary market engagement through a request for information, not inviting tenders. The buyer expects to publish a further notice on 4 January 2027. The planned contract period runs from 8 February 2027 to 7 February 2031. The estimated value is £500,000 excluding VAT (£600,000 including VAT). The procurement is arranged as a single lot, with small and medium-sized businesses considered suitable. The buyer has requested market responses by 22 October 2026 through its Atamis portal. This is an engagement date for responding to the information request, not a tender submission deadline. No award criteria or procurement procedure have yet been set out.

This engagement is relevant to suppliers able to provide specialist emergency rail recovery and rolling-stock handling services, including re-railing and wheel-skating. Firms with the equipment, trained personnel and operational readiness to respond to railway incidents are likely to be best placed to contribute to the market exercise and prepare for the later procurement. The buyer has expressly identified the requirement as suitable for SMEs, so smaller specialist providers may be relevant alongside larger rail engineering or recovery businesses. The request for information gives potential providers a chance to describe their services and inform the buyer’s understanding of the market before it issues a tender. Suppliers should consider whether they can deliver the combined recovery, re-railing and wheel-skating scope across the planned contract period.

## Notice

Request for Information for Emergency Rolling Stock Recovery, Re-railing and Wheel-Skating Services. Please respond to the RFI via the Atamis portal: https://atamis-2464.my.site.com/s/Welcome

### Planning Information

PME for Emergency Rolling Stock Recovery, Re-railing and Wheel-Skating Services. 
Please respond to the RFI via the Atamis portal: https://atamis-2464.my.site.com/s/Welcome

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094593-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 7 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 4 Jan 2027 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 8 Feb 2027 - 7 Feb 2031 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £500,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Direct Rail Services Limited |
| Locality | CARLISLE |
| Postcode area | Carlisle |
| Postcode | CA6 4SJ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLD North West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLD1 Cumbria |
| ITL 3 | TLD13 Cumberland |
| Local authority | Cumberland |
| Electoral ward | Dalston and Burgh |
| Westminster constituency | Carlisle |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 60 - Transport services (excl. Waste transport)
- 63 - Supporting and auxiliary transport services; travel agencies services

### Codes

- 60200000 - Railway transport services
- 63711000 - Support services for railway transport

## Release History

- 7 Oct 2026 at 10:57 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094593-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094593-2026
  7th October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://atamis-2464.my.site.com/s/Welcome
- https://www.directrailservices.com/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078254. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078254.json.
