---
title: "THE REFURBISHMENT OF BUILDING 42 TO CREATE A NEW GAS INCIDENT INVESTIGATION LABORATORY"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078324"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078324"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078324.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078324.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Health & Safety Executive"
published: "2026-10-07"
---

# THE REFURBISHMENT OF BUILDING 42 TO CREATE A NEW GAS INCIDENT INVESTIGATION LABORATORY

Buyer: Health & Safety Executive  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078324

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078324)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078324.json)

## Summary

The Health and Safety Executive plans to refurbish Buildings 42 and 45 at its Buxton site to create a gas incident investigation laboratory and evidence store. The construction works include replacing the roof, roller shutters, internal doors and failed concrete lintels; masonry repairs; and building fabric upgrades. The gas supply will be increased, with a new supply to Building 45 and internal distribution to appliance-testing locations. The contractor will also make electrical modifications, install epoxy resin flooring, redecorate and relocate and commission existing equipment, including an extract booth and heat exchanger. The work is at the HSE Science and Research Centre in Buxton, Derbyshire.

This is at the planning stage: the HSE has set out its intention to procure, but has not yet invited tenders. It expects to publish a tender notice on 19 October 2026. A mandatory site visit is planned for 28 October 2026, from 1.30pm to 4.30pm, at the Buxton site; booking instructions are expected with the tender pack. The buyer describes construction works, with one planned lot considered suitable for small and medium-sized businesses. The estimated value is £300,000 excluding VAT (£360,000 including VAT). The planned contract period runs from 24 December 2026 to 31 March 2027. The description also says work should start in January 2027 and finish by 26 March 2026, dates that conflict with the planned contract period.

This work is suited to building contractors able to coordinate a multi-trade refurbishment in an operating scientific and research facility. Relevant capability includes roofing and building-envelope upgrades, structural concrete and masonry repairs, fire-rated doors, gas-main upgrades and internal gas distribution, electrical modifications, resin flooring, and equipment relocation and commissioning. The contractor will need to coordinate with the HSE’s asbestos contractor during roof replacement and engage its incumbent ATEX electrical contractor to install and commission an ATEX-rated extract fan in the existing booth. The planned lot is identified as suitable for SMEs, so smaller firms with the necessary construction and building-services capacity may be relevant, including those able to manage specialist subcontractors. The mandatory site visit is an important preparation requirement for prospective bidders.

## Notice

HSE have a requirement to create a new gas incident investigation laboratory and evidence store within existing buildings 42 and 45. The buildings require various backlog maintenance works, including replacement of precast concrete lintels, roofing and associated fabric upgrades. Additionally, upgrades are required to the gas main to increase the incoming supply to allow for concurrent testing of appliances. The following services and works are required: * Supply and installation of new Kingspan composite roof panel system * Coordination with Client's asbestos contractor appointed to remove existing asbestos cement sheet roof * Supply and installation of new roller shutter doors * Replacement of internal doors with new fire rated doors * Replacement of failed concrete lintels and associated masonry repointing * Replacement of final section of existing gas main to increase gas supply * New gas supply to Building 45 * Internal gas works to distribute to testing locations * Internal electrical modifications * Relocation and commissioning of existing equipment including extract booth and heat exchanger * Installation of new epoxy resin flooring throughout * Decorations throughout * The successful contractor shall be required to engage with the HSE's incumbent ATEX Electrical Contractor SR Electrical Services Ltd. for the installation and commissioning of a new ATEX rated extract fan within the existing extract booth. The works are required at our Buxton site at SK17 9JN. The works are required to commence in January 2027 and to complete by 26th March 2026.

### Planning Information

HSE intend to publish a tender notice for this opportunity on 19th October 2026.
All parties that wish to bid MUST attend a mandatory site visit before submitting their proposal.
The visits will take place at 1.30pm - 4.30pm on Wednesday 28th October 2026 at the HSE Science & Research Centre Centre, Harpur Hill, Buxton SK17 9JN.
Instructions for how to book a place will be provided within the ITT pack available on the publication date above. No contact is required from potential bidders before publication and no response to this notice is necessary.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094924-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | SME |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 7 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 24 Dec 2026 - 1 Apr 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £300,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Health & Safety Executive |
| Locality | LIVERPOOL |
| Postcode area | Liverpool |
| Postcode | L20 7HS |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLD North West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLD7 Merseyside |
| ITL 3 | TLD73 Sefton |
| Local authority | Sefton |
| Electoral ward | Linacre |
| Westminster constituency | Bootle |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45000000 - Construction work

## Release History

- 7 Oct 2026 at 16:35 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094924-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/094924-2026
  7th October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.hse.gov.uk/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078324. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078324.json.
