---
title: "City Hall Accessibility Main Contractor"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07835b"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07835b"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07835b.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07835b.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Norwich City Council"
published: "2026-10-08"
---

# City Hall Accessibility Main Contractor

Buyer: Norwich City Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07835b

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07835b)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07835b.json)

## Summary

Norwich City Council commissioned accessibility improvement works at City Hall in Norwich. The project covers an external access ramp, an internal access lift, automatic entrance doors, accessible toilet facilities and associated building alterations. It combines building refurbishment and alteration with lift installation to improve access to the council’s City Hall. The work is a single package for the Norwich site, rather than separate lots. The Council is the buyer; Greyfriars Cost Management acted as its cost consultant and quantity surveyor. The selected contractor was responsible for delivering the works at City Hall.

The procurement is complete and the contract is active. Norwich City Council used a below-threshold limited competition. One supplier, ND Willan Building Contractors Ltd, was awarded the contract. The award was active, and the contract was signed on 30 August 2026. Its period runs from 30 August to 14 December 2026. The contract value is £349,845.22 excluding VAT, or £419,814.26 including VAT. The contract covers the single package of accessibility improvements at City Hall. No separate award values or lot awards are reported. The procurement was evaluated through limited competition; no further evaluation criteria are stated in the available process details.

For a future requirement of this kind, a credible competitor would need to deliver coordinated building alterations in an operational civic building, including accessible entrances, ramps, lifts and toilet facilities. The awarded scope indicates a need to manage several interdependent construction and installation elements as one project, with the capability to complete refurbishment work alongside specialist lift installation. Suppliers should be able to demonstrate suitable building-contractor capacity and experience coordinating multiple trades on accessibility improvements. The successful contractor was a Norwich-based small or medium-sized business, showing that a local SME was able to undertake this scale of work. Cost control would also be relevant to competing for the Council’s projects, given its appointed cost consultant and quantity surveyor role.

## Notice

Accessibility improvement works to City Hall, Norwich, including an external access ramp, internal access lift, automatic entrance doors, accessible toilet facilities and associated building alterations.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095025-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 8 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 30 Aug 2026 - 14 Dec 2026 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £349,845 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Norwich City Council |
| Locality | NORWICH |
| Postcode area | Norwich |
| Postcode | NR2 1NH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLH East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLH5 Norfolk |
| ITL 3 | TLH51 Norwich and East Norfolk |
| Local authority | Norwich |
| Electoral ward | Mancroft |
| Westminster constituency | Norwich South |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | N.D Willan Building Contractors Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45262700 - Building alteration work
- 45313100 - Lift installation work
- 45453100 - Refurbishment work

## Release History

- 8 Oct 2026 at 09:44 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095025-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095025-2026
  8th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://greyfriarscm.com/
- https://ndwillanbuilders.co.uk/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.norwich.gov.uk/site/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07835b. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07835b.json.
