---
title: "Interior Decorating and Furnishing Solutions"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07843a"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07843a"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07843a.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07843a.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "GATESHEAD COUNCIL"
published: "2026-10-08"
---

# Interior Decorating and Furnishing Solutions

Buyer: GATESHEAD COUNCIL  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07843a

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07843a)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07843a.json)

## Summary

Gateshead Borough Council buys decorating materials and associated decorating cards or vouchers for its Decoration Allowance Scheme. The scheme helps residents redecorate homes affected by Council improvement works. The requirement covers paint and wallcoverings, with delivery in Gateshead. This is a supply contract supporting a resident-facing service: the successful supplier provides materials and a means for residents to obtain them through the allowance scheme. The council is the buyer, and the scope is tied to homes undergoing Council improvement works rather than general household decorating. The goods fall within the paints and wallcoverings category, including paints, varnishes and mastics.

The procurement is complete and the contract has been awarded to PPG Architectural Coatings UK Limited. The award was made through Lot 1, Retail Decorative Solutions, of the Procurement for Housing framework, by direct award without competition under the below-threshold route. The contract was signed on 11 May 2026 and runs from 11 May 2026 to 10 May 2029, with two optional 12-month extensions, allowing a maximum end date of 10 May 2031. Its stated value is £80,000 excluding VAT and £96,000 including VAT. The procurement has one lot. The award is active and the contract is active.

For suppliers seeking to compete when this requirement returns to market, this award shows that Gateshead Council uses a housing procurement framework’s retail decorative solutions lot to source decorating materials and resident vouchers or cards. A credible provider would need to supply a suitable range of paint and wallcovering products and support an allowance scheme that enables residents affected by improvement works to obtain materials. The arrangement indicates a modest, defined supply requirement rather than a major construction or decorating works contract. The selected supplier is a large architectural coatings business, showing that established product supply capability is relevant; suppliers with experience serving public-sector or housing-related schemes and handling voucher-based purchasing would be well placed to meet the same need.

## Notice

This contract was awarded via the Pfh (Procurement for Housing) framework - Lot 1 Retail Decorative Solutions. The contract supports the Council's Decoration Allowance Scheme, which helps residents redecorate homes affected by Council improvement works.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095425-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 8 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 11 May 2026 - 10 May 2029 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £80,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | GATESHEAD COUNCIL |
| Locality | GATESHEAD |
| Postcode area | Newcastle upon Tyne |
| Postcode | NE8 1HH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC43 Tyneside |
| Local authority | Gateshead |
| Electoral ward | Bridges |
| Westminster constituency | Gateshead Central and Whickham |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | PPG Architectural Coatings UK Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 44 - Construction structures and materials; auxiliary products to construction (except electric apparatus)

### Codes

- 44111400 - Paints and wallcoverings
- 44800000 - Paints, varnishes and mastics

## Release History

- 8 Oct 2026 at 17:21 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095425-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095425-2026
  8th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.ppg.com
- https://www.gateshead.gov.uk/article/31230/Learning-and-Skills
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07843a. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07843a.json.
