---
title: "Ysgol Garth Olwg Solar PV"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC"
published: "2026-10-09"
---

# Ysgol Garth Olwg Solar PV

Buyer: Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb.json)

## Summary

Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council commissioned solar photovoltaic works at Ysgol Garth Olwg. The requirement concerns installing solar PV at the school, combining construction work with energy-related services. The work is delivered in Rhondda Cynon Taf, South Wales. This is a school-specific renewable-energy project, rather than a general energy supply contract, and is most relevant to contractors able to deliver solar installations in educational settings. The published scope identifies the project and site but does not describe system capacity, panel quantities or detailed technical specifications.

The procurement is complete and the contract has been awarded to GMI Electrical Ltd. It was run as a below-threshold limited competition for a single lot. The award is active and the contract is also active. The contract was signed on 21 July 2026, with a contract period from 22 July 2026 to 31 March 2027. The contract value is £134,615.26 excluding VAT, or £161,538.31 including VAT. The procurement data does not state a separate award date or describe the evaluation criteria, so the basis for selecting the supplier cannot be reported.

For businesses considering similar work for Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council, this award demonstrates demand for school-based solar PV installation delivered through a limited competition. A credible competitor would need to undertake construction and energy-related work and deliver a solar installation at an operational school site. The selected supplier, GMI Electrical Ltd, provides a benchmark of the type and scale of provider that secured the contract, although its specific technical credentials and delivery capacity are not described. Solar contractors with relevant installation capability and experience coordinating works in school environments are the closest fit to this requirement; broader energy services alone would not match the project as closely.

## Notice

Ysgol Garth Olwg Solar PV 2026

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095741-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 22 Jul 2026 - 31 Mar 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £134,615 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Rhondda Cynon Taf CBC |
| Locality | PONTYPRIDD |
| Postcode area | Cardiff |
| Postcode | CF37 4TH |
| Country | Wales |
| ITL 1 | TLL Wales |
| ITL 2 | TLL5 South East Wales |
| ITL 3 | TLL51 Central Valleys and Bridgend |
| Local authority | Rhondda Cynon Taf |
| Electoral ward | Pontypridd Town |
| Westminster constituency | Pontypridd |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | GMI Electrical Ltd |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work
- 71 - Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services

### Codes

- 45000000 - Construction work
- 71314000 - Energy and related services

## Release History

- 9 Oct 2026 at 14:50 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095741-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095741-2026
  9th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.rctcbc.gov.uk/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0784eb.json.
