---
title: "Battery Industry Insights Subscription"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078571"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078571"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078571.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078571.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Department for Energy Security & Net Zero"
published: "2026-10-12"
---

# Battery Industry Insights Subscription

Buyer: Department for Energy Security & Net Zero  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078571

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078571)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078571.json)

## Summary

The Department for Energy Security & Net Zero bought a subscription to Modo Energy for staff monitoring the battery sector. It provides market intelligence, analysis and forecasting tools covering battery revenues and build-out in Great Britain, monthly analysis of revenue drivers, and weekly analysis of battery-related policy and regulation. The service also includes detailed intelligence on key international battery-storage markets, including Texas, California and Australia, with coverage of developments in Spain, Germany, New York, France, Italy, Ireland, Poland and other relevant jurisdictions. Revenue forecasts are updated to reflect market developments, policy changes and modelling assumptions. This is a specialist information and subscription service for public-sector energy teams, rather than a purchase of battery equipment or installation work. The service is delivered in the United Kingdom.

The procurement is complete and the contract has been awarded to Modo Energy Limited. The Department used a direct award without competition under a below-threshold procedure. The contract was signed on 24 September 2026 and runs from 28 September 2026 to 27 September 2027, with a possible 12-month extension if the subscription remains required and offers value for money; the maximum stated period ends 27 September 2028. The contract value is £30,000 excluding VAT (£36,000 including VAT). The purchase was for one lot. The contract is active. No separate evaluation criteria are stated in the procurement details.

For energy-market intelligence suppliers, this award shows the Department’s demand for a specialist battery-storage subscription that supports ongoing monitoring of the sector. A credible alternative would need to provide robust analysis of Great Britain battery revenues and build-out, explain market revenue drivers, and track relevant policy and regulatory developments, including government, NESO and Ofgem activity. The service also needs meaningful international coverage, particularly of Texas, California and Australia, alongside awareness of developments across European markets and elsewhere. Regularly updated revenue forecasts, with transparent responsiveness to market changes, policy and modelling assumptions, are central to the requirement. Suppliers competing for similar work would need to combine current data, forecasting capability and clear analytical reporting in a usable subscription service for government staff.

## Notice

This contract is procuring a subscription to Modo Energy for Department for Energy Security and Net Zero employees and will provide access to a comprehensive suite of market intelligence, analysis and forecasting tools, including: - Battery revenues in Great Britain - Battery buildout reports that provide commentary on how these new assets compare to others and what this means in terms of overall trends for the market. - Revenue and market deep dives providing in depth analysis each month on the revenue picture and what the drivers of increase/decrease disaggregated by the market. - Weekly policy and regulatory analysis, covering battery storage-related developments and assessing the implications of government, NESO and Ofgem consultations, calls for evidence, and industry code modifications. - Detailed international market intelligence for key battery storage markets, including Texas, California and Australia, supplemented by analysis of developments in Spain, Germany, New York, France, Italy, Ireland, Poland and other relevant jurisdictions. - Revenue forecasts that are regularly updated to reflect market developments, policy changes and Modo Energy's latest modelling assumptions. This will feed into monitoring of the battery sector.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095989-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 28 Sep 2026 - 27 Sep 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £30,000 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Department for Energy Security & Net Zero |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | South West London |
| Postcode | SW1A 2HP |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI3 Inner London - West |
| ITL 3 | TLI35 Westminster and City of London |
| Local authority | Westminster |
| Electoral ward | St James's |
| Westminster constituency | Cities of London and Westminster |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Modo energy Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 79 - Business services: law, marketing, consulting, recruitment, printing and security

### Codes

- 79980000 - Subscription services

## Release History

- 12 Oct 2026 at 11:23 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095989-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/095989-2026
  12th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://modoenergy.com/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078571. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078571.json.
