---
title: "DSTL0000071484"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Defence Science and Technology Laboratory"
published: "2026-10-12"
---

# DSTL0000071484

Buyer: Defence Science and Technology Laboratory  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6.json)

## Summary

The Defence Science and Technology Laboratory (Dstl) bought a pulse CO2 laser, a specialist laser system used in scientific and technical work. The procurement was for goods and formed a single lot. Delivery was in the United Kingdom; no more specific delivery place is recorded. Dstl is the buying organisation, based at Porton Down, Salisbury. The awarded item is classified as a laser, and the stated requirement is limited to supplying the equipment rather than a broader package of services or works. This is a focused equipment purchase for suppliers able to supply pulse CO2 laser technology to a central government defence science and technology laboratory.

The procurement is complete and the contract is active. Dstl used a below-threshold limited competition. Edinburgh Instruments Limited was selected for the single lot. The contract was signed on 7 October 2026 and runs from 7 October 2026 to 31 January 2027. Its value is £91,382.80 excluding VAT and £109,659.36 including VAT. The published award data identifies the laser as the item purchased, but does not set out evaluation criteria or eligibility requirements. The process therefore records a completed, limited competition and a successful supplier, rather than a current purchasing opportunity.

For suppliers considering similar future requirements from Dstl, this award shows demand for a pulse CO2 laser as a discrete equipment purchase through a limited competition. A credible competitor would need to supply the specified laser technology and demonstrate that its product meets the laboratory’s technical needs. Edinburgh Instruments Limited, an SME, was selected, indicating that this requirement was awarded to a specialist equipment supplier rather than requiring a large-scale works or services provider. The procurement points to the commercial relevance of firms with laser-product expertise and the ability to supply equipment to a defence science and technology customer. No particular accreditation, capacity threshold or prior experience requirement is stated, so these should not be inferred from the award.

## Notice

Supply of Pulse CO2 Laser

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096190-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 7 Oct 2026 - 31 Jan 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £91,382 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Defence Science and Technology Laboratory |
| Locality | SALISBURY |
| Postcode area | Salisbury |
| Postcode | SP4 0JQ |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLK South West (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLK7 Gloucestershire and Wiltshire |
| ITL 3 | TLK72 Wiltshire |
| Local authority | Wiltshire |
| Electoral ward | Winterslow & Upper Bourne Valley |
| Westminster constituency | Salisbury |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Edinburgh Instruments |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 38 - Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses)

### Codes

- 38636100 - Lasers

## Release History

- 12 Oct 2026 at 15:36 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096190-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096190-2026
  12th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.edinst.com
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0785d6.json.
