---
title: "Washington Pride in Place Programme Communications Support"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-07869b"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07869b"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07869b.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07869b.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Sunderland City Council"
published: "2026-10-13"
---

# Washington Pride in Place Programme Communications Support

Buyer: Sunderland City Council  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-07869b

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07869b)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07869b.json)

## Summary

Sunderland City Council commissioned communications support for the Washington Pride in Place Programme. The provider is to work with the programme Board Chair and council officers to develop and deliver a consistent, engaging communications approach. The work aims to raise awareness of the programme, showcase its successes, strengthen local pride and reach a broader, more diverse audience, particularly young people. This is marketing and communications services (CPV 79342000), delivered for the Washington programme in Sunderland. The requirement centres on strategic communications planning and its delivery, rather than a general marketing campaign: suppliers need to be able to shape messaging with public-sector stakeholders and turn it into communications activity that engages the local community.

The procurement is complete and has been awarded to O Communications Ltd. Sunderland City Council used a below-threshold limited competition. There was one lot, covering the communications support requirement. The contract was signed on 12 October 2026 and runs from 19 October 2026 to 19 April 2027. Its gross value is £17,400. The published procurement information describes the work and intended communications outcomes but gives no separate scoring breakdown or detailed award formula; the supplier was selected through the limited competition. The award is active and the contract is also recorded as active. The procurement therefore records a completed selection and a signed contract for a defined, short-term programme of communications support in Washington.

For communications agencies serving councils and place-based programmes, this award shows a buyer requirement for joined-up strategic and delivery capability at a modest, focused scale. A credible competitor would need to work closely with elected or programme leadership and council officers, develop a consistent communications approach, and deliver activity that both demonstrates programme achievements and builds local awareness and pride. The brief also calls for audience development: reaching beyond established participants and engaging a broader, more diverse community, with particular attention to young people. Relevant experience would include public-sector stakeholder management, community engagement and clear, accessible communications tied to local outcomes. The award to a Newcastle-based small agency demonstrates that a specialist SME can deliver this kind of council communications support; the requirement is distinct from broad, high-volume advertising or unrelated marketing services.

## Notice

The Board has identified the need for dedicated communications support to help build awareness of the programme, showcase successes, strengthen local pride and engage a broader and more diverse audience across Washington, particularly young people. The communications partner will work alongside the Board Chair and Sunderland City Council officers to develop and deliver a programme of communications activity from October 2026 to March 2027. The successful provider will support the Board in developing and delivering a consistent and engaging communications approach

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096572-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Limited |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - limited competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 13 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 19 Oct 2026 - 19 Apr 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | £17,400 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Sunderland City Council |
| Locality | SUNDERLAND |
| Postcode area | Sunderland |
| Postcode | SR1 3AA |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLC North East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLC4 Northumberland, Durham and Tyne & Wear |
| ITL 3 | TLC44 Sunderland |
| Local authority | Sunderland |
| Electoral ward | Millfield |
| Westminster constituency | Sunderland Central |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | O Communications |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 79 - Business services: law, marketing, consulting, recruitment, printing and security

### Codes

- 79342000 - Marketing services

## Release History

- 13 Oct 2026 at 14:03 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096572-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096572-2026
  13th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.sunderland.gov.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-07869b. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-07869b.json.
