---
title: "100572 Walpole SGT4 Tertiary Connection"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "NATIONAL GRID ELECTRICITY TRANSMISSION PLC"
published: "2026-10-13"
---

# 100572 Walpole SGT4 Tertiary Connection

Buyer: NATIONAL GRID ELECTRICITY TRANSMISSION PLC  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb.json)

## Summary

National Grid Electricity Transmission plc commissioned completion of the remaining design and infrastructure works for the Walpole SGT4 Tertiary Connection project. The work is substation construction: installing a tertiary cable box on SGT4, a 13kV transformer and disconnector, earthing switches, support structures, busbars and connectors. It also covers protection and control, substation control and ancillary systems, 13kV cabling and terminations, low-voltage AC and DC connections, testing and commissioning, and civil engineering. The contractor must commission interfaces with the connection assets and National Grid’s transmission system. The project is associated with Walpole; the stated delivery coverage spans England. National Grid Electricity Transmission is the buying organisation, and the procurement was treated as utility-sector works.

The procurement is complete and the contract was awarded on 13 October 2026 to OCU Utility Services Limited. The award value is £4,173,518.32 including VAT. The contract period runs from 26 October 2026 to 15 March 2028. The tender used a selective competitive flexible procedure and was divided into one lot, which is complete. The award is active. The process relates to a framework, with this procurement associated with lot 2 of that separate framework. The available award information does not state the evaluation criteria, so the basis for selecting the supplier cannot be described. A future contract signature was scheduled for 23 October 2026; the award information does not establish whether signature subsequently took place.

This award demonstrates demand from National Grid Electricity Transmission for integrated high-voltage substation construction and connection works. A credible competitor for a similar requirement would need to deliver electrical design and infrastructure installation alongside civil engineering, including transformer and disconnector installation, earthing, busbars, cable systems and protection and control equipment. The scope also calls for testing, commissioning and management of interfaces with connection assets and the transmission network, so suppliers need the technical coordination and commissioning capability to bring multiple substation systems into service. The awarded package is substantial and combines specialist electrical works with supporting infrastructure rather than a single equipment supply. OCU Utility Services Limited was selected for this requirement. The procurement used a selective competitive flexible procedure under a framework-related process. It indicates the type of delivery capability National Grid engaged for this project.»

## Notice

The works comprise the completion of the remaining design & infrastructure works required for the Walpole SGT4 Tertiary Connection Project, including installation of a tertiary cable box on SGT4, a 13kV transformer, a 13kV disconnector and associated earthing switches, supporting structures, busbars and connectors, protection and control systems, substation control and ancillary systems, 13kV cable systems and terminations, LVAC and DC connections, testing and commissioning, interface commissioning with connection assets and the National Grid transmission system, and all associated civil engineering works.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096662-2026 |
| Notice type | UK6 - Contract Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Selective |
| Procurement method details | Competitive flexible procedure |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 13 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 13 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period | 26 Oct 2026 - 15 Mar 2028 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £4,173,518 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | NATIONAL GRID ELECTRICITY TRANSMISSION PLC |
| Locality | LONDON |
| Postcode area | Central London |
| Postcode | WC2N 5EH |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLI London |
| ITL 2 | TLI3 Inner London - West |
| ITL 3 | TLI35 Westminster and City of London |
| Local authority | Westminster |
| Electoral ward | St James's |
| Westminster constituency | Cities of London and Westminster |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | OCU UTILITY SERVICES LIMITED |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45232220 - Substation construction work

## Release History

- 13 Oct 2026 at 15:31 - Award - UK6 - Contract Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096662-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096662-2026
  13th October 2026 - Contract award notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://ocugroup.com/
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/api/1.0/ocdsReleasePackages/ocds-h6vhtk-0657bc
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-0786cb.json.
