---
title: "SOL30066 SOL Alternative Provision 2027"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078845"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078845"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078845.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078845.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council"
published: "2026-10-15"
---

# SOL30066 SOL Alternative Provision 2027

Buyer: Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078845

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078845)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078845.json)

## Summary

Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council is developing a quality-assured provider framework for alternative provision (AP) education and support for school-aged pupils who cannot be suitably served through existing statutory, commissioned or in-house arrangements. The proposed services span registered AP school placements, non-school educational or re-engagement programmes, vocational and skills-based learning, outreach to pupils, families or schools, and specialist education support for medical, special educational needs and disability, autism, communication or sensory needs. Delivery may be at schools, provider-controlled learning sites, colleges, pupils’ homes or community locations, depending on the service. Vocational learning is intended for a school or school-like setting, not ordinary commercial work premises. The council is testing a five-lot structure, with the final scope still subject to change. The work is in Solihull.

This is a planning-stage market engagement, not an invitation to tender. The council is seeking provider input through an online questionnaire to shape future service requirements and tender options; responses are expected by 4 November 2026. The council expects a further notice around 1 February 2027. The planned procurement is a provider framework, with services expected to run from 1 September 2027 to 31 August 2030 and a possible extension to 31 August 2032. The stated estimated value is £2.4 million excluding VAT (£2.88 million including VAT). The proposed lots cover registered AP, non-school AP, vocational AP, outreach, and medical, specialist and SEND provision. The council is still testing this lotting structure. No evaluation approach or award criteria are set out at this stage.

The framework is intended to supplement existing provision, so it may suit education and alternative-provision providers able to offer tailored support to pupils whose needs cannot be met through current arrangements. Potentially relevant capabilities include registered school placements, re-engagement and well-being programmes, vocational or accredited learning, employability and skills support, outreach for attendance, emotionally based school avoidance, reintegration, and education adapted to medical, SEND, autism, communication or sensory needs. Providers may contribute through school, college, provider-site, home, community, remote or hybrid delivery, according to the service. The council describes a quality-assured framework and says commissioner oversight and clear registration boundaries will matter for non-school provision. Specialist providers should note that standalone clinical therapy or healthcare is outside scope unless explicitly commissioned as part of an educational package. The engagement is a chance to inform the service design and future tender options.

## Notice

Market Engagement Questionnaire - Solihull Council is developing a quality-assured provider framework to supplement existing statutory, commissioned and in-house provision where suitable education or targeted support cannot be secured through current arrangements. The Council wishes to engage with providers and is inviting them to submit an online questionnaire which will help shape future service delivery requirements and tender options. The proposed lotting structure is being tested through the questionnaire although final scope and details are subject to change: Lot 1: Registered AP - Education placements delivered by registered AP schools or registered independent schools, including short-stay, transitional and longer pathways where appropriate. Lot 2: Non-school AP - Primarily educational or re-engagement programmes delivered at a provider-controlled site by organisations that are not registered schools. This may include part-time, supplementary, well-being or activity-based programmes, subject to clear registration boundaries and commissioner oversight. Lot 3: Vocational AP - Practical, vocational, outdoor, accredited, employability and skills-based education for school-aged pupils, delivered in a school or school-like learning setting such as a college or provider-controlled site, not on ordinary commercial work premises. Lot 4: Outreach - AP-specific support delivered to a pupil, family or school at a school, home or community location, without creating a provider-site placement. This may include attendance, EBSA, re-engagement and reintegration support. Lot 5: Medical / Specialist / SEND - Education or AP-specific specialist support where medical, SEND, ASC, communication, sensory or related needs affect access to education. This may include remote, hybrid, graded-return, assessment and stabilisation approaches. Standalone clinical therapy or healthcare is outside scope unless explicitly commissioned as part of an educational package. Please respond by 4th November 2026.

### Planning Information

Please complete the questionnaire via the hyperlink: https://forms.cloud.microsoft/e/WVsCY38HCn

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/097348-2026 |
| Notice type | UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice |
| Procurement type | Framework |
| Procurement category | Services |
| Procurement method | Not Specified |
| Procurement method details | Not specified |
| Tender suitability | SME, VCSE |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 15 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 1 Feb 2027 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Sep 2027 - 31 Aug 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £2,400,000 |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planning |
| Lots status | Planning |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Solihull Metropolitan Borough Council |
| Locality | SOLIHULL |
| Postcode area | Birmingham |
| Postcode | B91 3QB |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLG West Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLG3 West Midlands |
| ITL 3 | TLG32 Solihull |
| Local authority | Solihull |
| Electoral ward | St Alphege |
| Westminster constituency | Solihull West and Shirley |
| Delivery location | TLG32 Solihull |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 80 - Education and training services

### Codes

- 80340000 - Special education services

## Release History

- 15 Oct 2026 at 10:56 - Planning - UK2 - Preliminary Market Engagement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/097348-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/097348-2026
  15th October 2026 - Preliminary market engagement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://forms.cloud.microsoft/e/WVsCY38HCn
- https://solihull.my.site.com/s/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078845. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078845.json.
