---
title: "Tendring Cemetery Extension"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078943"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078943"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078943.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078943.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Planning"
buyer: "Tendring District Council"
published: "2026-10-16"
---

# Tendring Cemetery Extension

Buyer: Tendring District Council  
Current stage: Planning  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078943

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078943)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078943.json)

## Summary

Tendring District Council intends to appoint a main contractor for construction works extending Burnsville Park Cemetery in Tendring. The work will provide new paths and roadways to enable future burial plots. The procurement is divided into an urgent initial works package and a full works package, which includes the urgent works plus the remaining extension works. The work will be delivered in the Tendring area of Essex. This is a civil engineering and cemetery construction project, including site preparation and clearance. The Council will decide after the tender process which package to award; the full works may be taken to market separately later if its cost is too high.

The process is at planning: the Council has stated its intention to procure, but has not yet invited tenders. It expects to use an open procedure, with a further notice anticipated on 1 December 2026. The stated overall estimated value is £2.7 million excluding VAT (£3.24 million including VAT). The urgent works package is valued at £700,000 excluding VAT (£840,000 including VAT), and the full works package at £2 million excluding VAT (£2.4 million including VAT). A contractor may bid for and win only one package according to the lot limits, although the Council’s description says a contractor can win both; the Council will resolve which package to award through the tender process. The anticipated contract period for either package is 1 April to 28 October 2027, with a possible extension to 28 December 2027. The buyer’s expected tender closing date is 15 January 2027 and award decision date is 9 February 2027.

This work is likely to suit a main contractor with the capacity to deliver cemetery construction and site preparation, including paths and roadways, and to organise work around an urgent initial package and a broader extension. Suppliers should consider whether they can price and resource either the initial urgent works or the full scope, which includes those works. The Council’s planned structure leaves a commercial distinction between completing the urgent package and undertaking the complete extension; the Council may procure the full works separately if its cost is too high. The process is intended to be open, and electronic tender submission is expected through an e-sourcing portal when the tender is issued. The planning information does not state specific accreditations, experience thresholds or technical selection requirements.

## Notice

Tendring District Council are seeking a main contractor to undertake the construction of the proposed extension to the existing Burnsville Park Cemetery to accommodate new paths and roadways to facilitate future burial plots. The Procurement is split into 2 Lots. 1 Lot for the urgent works 1 Lot for the full works The Council will decide which Lot they award following the tender process.

### Lot Information

Cemetery Extension Urgent Works

This Lot is for the initial urgent works required.

Renewal: There will be an extension option but this is not likely to be used.

Cemetery Extension Full Works

This Lot includes the urgent works and all extension works required after the urgent works.

Renewal: There will be an extension option but this is not likely to be used.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/097819-2026 |
| Notice type | UK3 - Planned Procurement Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Open |
| Procurement method details | Open procedure |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Not specified |
| All stages | Planning |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 16 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | 1 Dec 2026 |
| Award date | Not specified |
| Contract period | 1 Apr 2027 - 29 Oct 2027 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | £2,700,000 |
| Lots value | £2,700,000 |
| Awards value | Not specified |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Planned |
| Lots status | Planned |
| Awards status | Not specified |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Tendring District Council |
| Locality | CLACTON-ON-SEA |
| Postcode area | Colchester |
| Postcode | CO15 1SE |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLH East (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLH3 Essex |
| ITL 3 | TLH34 Essex Haven Gateway |
| Local authority | Tendring |
| Electoral ward | Pier |
| Westminster constituency | Clacton |
| Delivery location | TLH3 Essex |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 45111200 - Site preparation and clearance work
- 45215400 - Cemetery works

## Release History

- 16 Oct 2026 at 11:10 - Planning - UK3 - Planned Procurement Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/097819-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/097819-2026
  16th October 2026 - Planned procurement notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.open-uk.org/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078943. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078943.json.
