---
title: "Supply of a Piezoelectric Bone Surgery System"
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board"
published: "2026-10-21"
---

# Supply of a Piezoelectric Bone Surgery System

Buyer: Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c.json)

## Summary

Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board bought a piezoelectric bone surgery system for oral and maxillofacial surgery at Prince Charles Hospital in Merthyr Tydfil. NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership managed the procurement on the Health Board’s behalf. The requirement was for a dual-wave piezoelectric surgery system, together with all appropriate accessories. This is a specialist medical equipment supply, specifically surgical instruments, rather than a broader hospital equipment or clinical services contract. The equipment is intended for use in the hospital’s oral and maxillofacial surgery service. The procurement was treated as one lot, covering the system and associated accessories as a single requirement.

The procurement is complete and the contract was awarded to General Medical Ltd. The award date was 21 October 2026. The contract period runs from 3 November to 10 November 2026. The awarded value is £47,950 excluding VAT (£57,540 including VAT). The Health Board used a direct award below the relevant threshold, without competition. The stated basis was market research indicating that only one UK supplier could provide equipment meeting the Health Board’s clinical and operational requirements. The award covers the single lot for the system and accessories. No separate scored evaluation criteria are set out; the stated basis for selecting the supplier was its ability to meet the requirement.

This award shows demand from Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board for specialist equipment supporting oral and maxillofacial surgery at Prince Charles Hospital. A credible competitor for a future requirement would need to supply a dual-wave piezoelectric surgery system and the appropriate accessories, and demonstrate that the equipment meets the Health Board’s clinical and operational needs. The buyer’s stated view that only one UK supplier could meet those needs was central to this award, so suppliers would need a clear, evidence-based account of how their system compares with the required clinical and operational specification. This is a focused medical equipment opportunity for suppliers with relevant product capability, not a general surgical services contract.

## Notice

NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership (NWSSP) on behalf of Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board (CTMUHB) intend to award for the supply of a piezoelectric surgical system for oral and maxillofacial surgery in Prince Charles Hospital in Merthyr. The requirement includes the supply of a dual wave piezoelectric surgery system including all appropriate accessories and following market research only one supplier within the UK is capable of providing the equipment necessary to meet the Health Board's clinical and operational requirements. This notice is being published for transparency purposes to provide visibility of the Health Board's intention to award the contract and the procurement route being utilised. It ensures the proposed award is openly communicated and provides transparency around the contracting decision.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099613-2026 |
| Notice type | UK6 - Contract Award Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Goods |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | Large |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 21 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 21 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period | 3 Nov 2026 - 10 Nov 2026 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £47,950 |
| Contracts value | Not specified |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Not specified |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Cwm Taf Morgannwg University Health Board |
| Locality | MOUNTAIN ASH |
| Postcode area | Cardiff |
| Postcode | CF45 4SN |
| Country | Wales |
| ITL 1 | TLL Wales |
| ITL 2 | TLL5 South East Wales |
| ITL 3 | TLL51 Central Valleys and Bridgend |
| Local authority | Rhondda Cynon Taf |
| Electoral ward | Abercynon |
| Westminster constituency | Pontypridd |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | General Medical |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 33 - Medical equipments, pharmaceuticals and personal care products

### Codes

- 33169000 - Surgical instruments

## Release History

- 21 Oct 2026 at 15:34 - Award - UK6 - Contract Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099613-2026
- 19 Oct 2026 at 16:08 - Award - UK5 - Transparency Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098640-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/099613-2026
  21st October 2026 - Contract award notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098640-2026
  19th October 2026 - Transparency notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://nwssp.nhs.wales/ourservices/procurement-services/
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b1c.json.
