---
title: "Works to upgrade 4 routes of A614, Farndon, A6097 40mph & A6097 50mph to VECTOR and 2 Years Maintenance."
ocid: "ocds-h6vhtk-078b62"
canonical_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078b62"
markdown_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b62.md"
json_url: "https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b62.json"
source: "Find A Tender Service"
current_stage: "Award"
buyer: "Via East Midlands"
published: "2026-10-20"
---

# Works to upgrade 4 routes of A614, Farndon, A6097 40mph & A6097 50mph to VECTOR and 2 Years Maintenance.

Buyer: Via East Midlands  
Current stage: Award  
OCID: ocds-h6vhtk-078b62

[View canonical contract page](https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078b62)  
[Download OCDS JSON](https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b62.json)

## Summary

Via East Midlands Limited commissioned highway works to upgrade four average-speed camera routes: the A614, Farndon, and the A6097 40mph and 50mph routes. The work replaces existing Jenoptik equipment with Home Office Type Approved average-speed camera systems, rear-facing to detect motorcycles, and includes maintenance of the upgraded equipment. These systems support speed enforcement, so installation and ongoing technical servicing must preserve their calibration and approval. The work covers delivery locations across England, including the East Midlands and other English regions. The procurement combines traffic-monitoring equipment, highway installation and safety works, and highway maintenance. The buyer is Via East Midlands Limited, a public undertaking.

The procurement is complete and the contract has been awarded to Jenoptik UK Limited. The award was made on 19 October 2026, and the contract was signed on 20 October 2026. Its value is £947,624.31 excluding VAT (£1,137,149 including VAT). The contract period runs from 1 November 2026 to 31 March 2030. This was a below-threshold direct award without competition. The buyer's stated rationale is that Home Office Type Approval conditions require the manufacturer or its appointed agent to maintain and repair the cameras, with appropriate technical and professional competence; using another provider could invalidate calibration and prevent enforcement use. The procurement was arranged as one lot. The work covers upgrading four camera routes and maintaining the systems; no separate evaluation criteria are recorded.

For suppliers tracking future demand from Via East Midlands, this contract shows a requirement for integrated average-speed camera replacement, highway installation and ongoing maintenance. Credible competitors would need to supply or work with Home Office Type Approved equipment, including rear-facing systems able to detect motorcycles, and demonstrate the technical and professional competence required for servicing enforcement cameras. The buyer's rationale makes manufacturer or appointed-agent status particularly important: maintenance by an unapproved provider could compromise calibration and render cameras unusable for enforcement. Relevant capability therefore extends beyond general highway works to camera-system installation, calibration-sensitive servicing and support across multiple routes. The contract also indicates demand for a multi-year maintenance commitment alongside upgrade works. Any future supplier would need to establish that its equipment and maintenance arrangements satisfy the approval conditions for speed enforcement.

## Notice

Agreement in relation to Relating to works to upgrade 4 routes of A614, Farndon, A6097 40mph & A6097 50mph to VECTOR and 2 Years Maintenance. Replace the existing Jenoptik Average speed camera equipment on the A614, A6097 and Farndon with HOTA approved average speed camera systems. The systems must be rear facing to detect motorcycles. The legal requirements of Section 20 of the Road Traffic Offenders Act 1988 requires all speed enforcement devices to be approved by the Secretary of State. To obtain this approval all devices must be type approved by the Home Office. As a condition of Home Office Type Approval for the use of traffic enforcement cameras the annual and reactive maintenance of speed and red light cameras must be carried out by the manufacturer or their appointed agent offering appropriate evidence of technical and professional competence. Therefore, we can only approach the original company who provided and installed the equipment to make any repairs or provide maintenance. To do otherwise would invalidate the calibration of the equipment and the device would not be able to be used for enforcement purposes.

## Key Details

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication source | Find A Tender Service |
| Latest notice | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098778-2026 |
| Notice type | UK7 - Contract Details Notice |
| Procurement type | Standard |
| Procurement category | Works |
| Procurement method | Direct |
| Procurement method details | Below threshold - without competition |
| Tender suitability | Not specified |
| Awardee scale | SME |
| All stages | Award |

## Dates

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Publication date | 20 Oct 2026 |
| Submission deadline | Not specified |
| Future notice date | Not specified |
| Award date | 19 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period | 1 Nov 2026 - 31 Mar 2030 |
| Recurrence | Not specified |

## Values

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender value | Not specified |
| Lots value | Not specified |
| Awards value | £947,624 |
| Contracts value | £947,624 |

## Status

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Tender status | Complete |
| Lots status | Complete |
| Awards status | Active |
| Contracts status | Active |

## Buyer

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Main buyer | Via East Midlands |
| Locality | BILSTHORPE |
| Postcode area | Nottingham |
| Postcode | NG22 8ST |
| Country | England |
| ITL 1 | TLF East Midlands (England) |
| ITL 2 | TLF1 Derbyshire and Nottinghamshire |
| ITL 3 | TLF15 North Nottinghamshire |
| Local authority | Newark and Sherwood |
| Electoral ward | Bilsthorpe |
| Westminster constituency | Sherwood Forest |
| Delivery location | Not specified |

## Supplier

| Field | Value |
| --- | --- |
| Number of suppliers | 1 |
| Supplier names | Jenoptik UK Limited |

## CPV Codes

### Divisions

- 34 - Transport equipment and auxiliary products to transportation
- 45 - Construction work

### Codes

- 34970000 - Traffic-monitoring equipment
- 45233100 - Construction work for highways, roads
- 45233139 - Highway maintenance work
- 45233292 - Installation of safety equipment

## Release History

- 20 Oct 2026 at 09:44 - Award - UK7 - Contract Details Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098778-2026
- 20 Oct 2026 at 09:30 - Award - UK6 - Contract Award Notice - https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098767-2026

## Documents

- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098778-2026
  20th October 2026 - Contract details notice on Find a Tender
- https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098767-2026
  20th October 2026 - Contract award notice on Find a Tender

## Notice URLs

- http://www.jenoptik.co.uk
- https://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2023/54/contents
- https://www.viaem.co.uk/

## Provenance

This Markdown file is an alternate public rendering of the D3 Tenders contract record. The canonical page is https://d3tenders.com/contract/?ocid=ocds-h6vhtk-078b62. The underlying structured data is available as OCDS JSON at https://d3tenders.com/contract/ocds-h6vhtk-078b62.json.
